Toby Keith, Lee Ann Womack Top ACM Nominations

Keith's and Womack's six nominations each lead the field for awards, to be given in early May in Los Angeles during live telecast.

Toby Keith and Lee Ann Womack lead this year's nominees for the 36th annual Academy of Country Music (ACM) Awards with six nominations each. Faith Hill received four nods and Brad Paisley is nominated in three categories.

Keith was nominated for Entertainer of the Year, Top Male Vocalist, Album of the Year (for How Do You Like Me Now?!), Single of the Year, Song of the Year — both for "How Do You Like Me Now?!" (RealAudio excerpt) — and Video of the Year for "You Shouldn't Kiss Me Like This."

Womack's breakthrough album, I Hope You Dance (RealAudio excerpt of title song), was nominated in the album category, and the title song (on which she was accompanied by the group Sons of the Desert) gained nominations for Song, Single, Vocal Event and Video of the Year. Womack also was nominated for Female Vocalist of the Year.

The ACM Awards show, set for May 9 at Los Angeles' Universal Amphitheater, will be telecast live on CBS.

Here is the complete list of ACM nominees, as announced at a press conference Tuesday (February 27):

  • Entertainer of the Year
  • Brooks & Dunn

    Dixie Chicks

    Faith Hill

    Toby Keith

    George Strait

  • Top Female Vocalist
  • Sara Evans

    Faith Hill

    Martina McBride

    Jo Dee Messina

    Lee Ann Womack

  • Top Male Vocalist
  • Kenny Chesney

    Toby Keith

    Tim McGraw

    Brad Paisley

    George Strait

  • Top Vocal Duo
  • Brooks & Dunn

    The Judds

    The Kinleys

    Montgomery Gentry

    The Warren Brothers

  • Vocal Group of the Year
  • Alabama

    Diamond Rio

    Dixie Chicks


    Sawyer Brown

  • Top New Female Vocalist
  • Tammy Cochran

    Carolyn Dawn Johnson

    Jamie O'Neal

  • Top New Male Vocalist
  • Billy Gilman

    Keith Urban

    Phil Vassar

  • Top New Vocal Duet/Group
  • Clark Family Experience

    Rascal Flatts

    Sons of the Desert

  • Video of the Year (Award to Producer/Director/Artist)
  • "Goodbye Earl," Dixie Chicks; Producer: Keely Gould, Director: Evan Bernard

    "I Hope You Dance," Lee Ann Womack; Producer: Alex Carone, Director: Gerry Wenner

    "The Way You Love Me," Faith Hill; Producers: Faith Hill and Mary Ann Tanedo, Director: Joseph Kahn

    "When It All Goes South," Alabama; Producer: Chanda Zimmerman, Director: Brent Hedgecock

    "You Shouldn't Kiss Me Like This," Toby Keith; Producer: Mark Kalbfield, Director: Michael Salomon

  • Album of the Year (Award to Artist/Producer/Record Company)
  • American III: Solitary Man, Johnny Cash; Producer: Rick Rubin, Record Company: American Recordings

    How Do You Like Me Now?!,Toby Keith; Producers: James Stroud and Toby Keith, Record Company: DreamWorks Records

    I Hope You Dance, Lee Ann Womack w/Sons of the Desert; Producers: Mark Wright and Frank Liddell, Record Company: MCA Nashville

    One Voice, Billy Gilman; Producers: Don Cook, Blake Chancey and David Malloy, Record Company: Epic Records

    Who Needs Pictures, Brad Paisley; Producer: Frank Rogers, Record Company: Arista Nashville

  • Single Record of the Year (Award to Artist/Producer/Record Company)
  • "How Do You Like Me Now?!, "Toby Keith; Producers: James Stroud and Toby Keith, Record Company: DreamWorks Records

    "I Hope You Dance," Lee Ann Womack w/Sons of the Desert; Producer: Mark Wright, Record Company: MCA Nashville

    "Kiss This," Aaron Tippin; Producers: Aaron Tippin, B. Watson and M. Bradley, Record Company: Lyric Street Records

    "The Little Girl," John Michael Montgomery; Producers: Buddy Cannon, Norro Wilson and John Michael Montgomery; Record Company: Atlantic Records

    "There Is No Arizona," Jamie O'Neal; Producer: Keith Stegall, Record Company: Mercury Records

  • Song of the Year (Award to Composer/Publisher/Artist)
  • "How Do You Like Me Now?!," Toby Keith; Composers: Toby Keith and Chuck Cannon, Publishers: Tokeco Tunes and Wacissa River Music Inc. (BMI)

    "I Hope You Dance," Lee Ann Womack w/Sons of the Desert; Composers: Mark D. Sanders and Tia Sellers, Publishers: Universal MCA Music Publishing, Soda Creek Songs (ASCAP), Choice Is Tragic Music and Ensign Music Corporation (BMI)

    "The Little Girl," John Michael Montgomery; Composer: Harley L. Allen, Publisher: Coburn Music Inc.

    "One Voice," Billy Gilman; Composers: David Malloy and Don Cook, Publishers: Starstruck Angel Music Inc., Malloy's Toys Music, Sony/ATV Songs LLC and Don Cook Music (BMI)

    "We Danced," Brad Paisley; Composers: Brad Paisley and Chris DuBois, Publishers: EMI April Music Inc. and Sea Gayle Music (ASCAP)

  • Vocal Event of the Year (Award to Artist/Producer)
  • "Buy Me a Rose," Kenny Rogers w/Alison Krauss, Bill Dean; Producers: Kenny Rogers and Brent Maher

    "I Hope You Dance," Lee Ann Womack w/Sons of the Desert; Producer: Mark Wright

    "Let's Make Love," Faith Hill w/Tim McGraw; Producers: Byron Gallimore and Faith Hill

    "Murder on Music Row," George Strait w/Alan Jackson; Producers: Tony Brown and George Strait

    "That's the Beat of a Heart," Warren Brothers featuring Sara Evans; Producer: Chris Farren