Dr. Dre Announced 'Compton: A Soundtrack' With This Mansion Pool Party

Get ready for a new Dr. Dre album.

Dr. Dre announced his new album Compton: A Soundtrack By Dr. Dre on Saturday (Aug. 1).

The Good Doctor broke the news on his Beats 1 radio show "The Pharmacy." Soon after this was confirmed, a tracklist appeared on iTunes showing that Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, Ice Cube, Snoop Dogg and Xzibit are among the MCs slated to appear on the 16-track project.

Jill Scott, Marsha Ambrosius and Candice Pillay are among the singers lending their vocals to the effort, which is set for an August 7 drop exclusively through Apple.

Andres Tardio/MTV News


In honor of the occasion, Dre threw a giant pool party in Beverly Hills yesterday. MTV News was there to witness the event. The mansion was the type you see in movies with enormous gates, a stunning and long driveway, extravagant decor and overall awesomeness. It was a pool party, which also featured a huge screen playing "The Pharmacy" in its entirety.

But, let's get back to that album news.

It's a major announcement because Dre hasn't released an official LP since 1999 when he dropped the critically acclaimed 2001. For years, he's teased Detox, but never delivered. On "The Pharmacy" today, the legendary beatsmith confided that he didn't like that LP - which has since been scrapped. "It wasn't good," he said.

Andres Tardio/MTV News


Still, we shouldn't expect those delays with this new collection, according to Dre, who confirmed this project was inspired by "Straight Outta Compton," the N.W.A biopic which is scheduled to hit theaters August 14. The album will surely whet your appetite for the motion picture which is based on one of the genre's most influential rap groups.

Andres Tardio/MTV News


Cube got fans' hopes up last week when he announced that a Dr. Dre album would be dropping August 1. Prior to that, MTV News exclusively got word of new Dre material featuring Eminem and Kendrick Lamar. "It's really Dre and how he has evolved and how he has matured as not only a person, but an artist," he explained.

Here's a look at Compton A Soundtrack By Dr. Dre's cover, which Dre posted on Instagram.

And here's the tracklist via Pitchfork.

1. Intro

2. Talk About It (featuring King Mez & Justus)

3. Genocide (featuring Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay)

4. It's All on Me (featuring Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid)

5. All in a Day's Work (featuring Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius)

6. Darkside/Gone (featuring King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar)

7. Loose Cannons (featuring Xzibit & COLD 187um)

8. Issues (featuring Ice Cube & Anderson Paak)

9. Deep Water (featuring Kendrick Lamar & Justus)

10. One Shot One Kill (Jon Connor featuring Snoop Dogg)

11. Just Another Day (Game featuring Asia Bryant)

12. For the Love of Money (featuring Jill Scott & Jon Connor)

13. Satisfaction (featuring Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez)

14. Animals (featuring Anderson Paak)

15. Medicine Mane (featuring Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak)

16. Talking to My Diary

Latest News