'Spider-Man 3' Soundtrack Features Killers, Snow Patrol

Flaming Lips, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Wolfmother also on soundtrack album, due May 1.

If Peter Parker is going to confront his demons — and the man who killed his beloved uncle — he's gonna need a soaring, weepy ballad playing in the background, right? Well, Snow Patrol have served up a big, fat one for the "Spider-Man 3" soundtrack in "Signal Fire." The swelling ballad is the lead tune on a soundtrack that features new songs from the Killers, Wolfmother, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, the Walkmen, Flaming Lips and a track from former Phantom Planet drummer Jason Schwartzman's new musical alter ego, Coconut Records.

The soundtrack is due May 1 — three days before the film hits U.S. theaters — according to the Web site of Record Collection, the label releasing the album. The disc has a less emo/ hard rock feel than the last installment's soundtrack, which featured a big ballad from Dashboard Confessional and tunes from Train, Taking Back Sunday, Hoobastank, Lostprophets and Smile Empty Soul.

Instead, the more indie-leaning "3" collection serves up bands including Rogue Wave, moody Irish duo Wasted Youth Orchestra, Black Mountain, the Oohlas and little-known Austin, Texas, rockers Sounds Under Radio.

At the very least, you have to love the always-out-there Lips' contribution, "Spider-Man vs. Muhammad Ali," a seeming homage to the classic 1978 head-scratching DC Comics title that pitted Superman against the Greatest of All Time.

The track list for the "Spider-Man 3" soundtrack, according to the Record Collection site:

· Snow Patrol - "Signal Fire"

· The Killers - "Move Away"

· Yeah Yeah Yeahs - "Sealings"

· Wolfmother - "Pleased to Meet You"

· The Walkmen - "Red River"

· Black Mountain - "Stay Free"

· The Flaming Lips - "Spider-Man vs. Muhammad Ali"

· Simon Dawes - "Scared of Myself"

· Chubby Checker - "The Twist"

· Rogue Wave - "Sight Lines"

· Coconut Records - "Summer Day"

· Jet - "Falling Star"

· Sounds Under Radio - "Portrait of a Summer Thief"

· Wasted Youth Orchestra - "A Letter to St. Jude"

· The Oohlas - "Small Parts"

Check out everything we've got on "Spider-Man 3."

Visit Movies on MTV.com for more from Hollywood, including news, reviews, interviews and more.

Want trailers? Visit the Trailer Park for the newest, scariest and funniest coming attractions anywhere.