New Releases: T.I., Destiny's Child, Shakira, Ghostface Killah, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Matt Costa & More

Also due Tuesday are releases by Rob Zombie, Atreyu, Margot & the Nuclear So and So's.

Tipping Point?: In case the featured spots by Pharrell, Jamie Foxx, Young Jeezy, Common, B.G., Young Buck, UGK and more heavy-hitting hip-hoppers aren't enough, T.I.'s putting out a limited edition of his King that includes an extras-riddled DVD. Songs on both versions of Tip's fourth major-label solo outing include "Top Back," "Stand Up Guy" and "I'm Straight" (featuring B.G. and Jeezy).

Destiny's Run Wild: Defunct as they may be, Destiny's Child are celebrating their 10th anniversary like heavyweights. Their 38-chapter "Live in Atlanta" DVD captures most of their recent #1's in concert, but there's gobs more: a special feature called "A Family Affair"; three extra audio tracks (offered in surround sound too); the trailer for Beyoncé's "Dreamgirls" flick; fan testimonials and more.

Shaking Up Her New LP: Shakira fans clamoring for the second chapter to her two-part Oral Fixation saga will have their appetites sated when Vol. 2 drops this week. The set was originally slated for release in late November, but now arrives with a slightly modified track list and two bonus tunes, "Hips Don't Lie" (featuring Wyclef Jean) and an alternate version of "La Tortura."

Ghost With the Most: Ghostface hopped into the studio at the last minute to record one more track for his Fishscale LP, "Momma" (featuring new Def Jam artist Megan Rochell), and it's now being considered as the follow-up to his first single, "Back Like That" (featuring Ne-Yo). But there's actually another gem hitched to the end of the record, after the handfuls of skits and guest spots by Wu-Tang Clan, Cappadonna, Trife, et al: "Three Bricks," a bonus cut laced with vocals by the Notorious B.I.G. and Raekwon.

Dem Bones: Yeah Yeah Yeahs tacked a bonus track ("Déjà Vu") onto the import version of Show Your Bones, gave a free T-shirt to U.K. fans who pre-ordered and granted U.S. fans who pre-ordered the record through iTunes a live version of "Cheated Hearts" — but the standard edition is frill-free. Tracks include "Honeybear," "Dudley" and "The Streets."

The Miseducation of Rob Zombie: As he continues trolling around small venues across the U.S., Rob Zombie is simultaneously birthing his Educated Horses — which, one can only assume, have scarlet-red eyes, snort fire from their nostrils and spend most of their time quartering sinners in hell. Nevertheless, the record includes "Foxy, Foxy," "Let It All Bleed Out" and "The Devil's Rejects," a song that never made it on the soundtrack to the movie of the same name. Drums courtesy Tommy Lee and A Perfect Circle's Josh Freese.

Song Title of the Week:

"My Fork in the Road (Your Knife in My Back)" from Atreyu's A Death-Grip on Yesterday

Other notables:

Matt Costa's Songs We Sing vs. Margot & the Nuclear So and So's' The Dust of Retreat: Three years ago Matt Costa released the original Songs We Sing, but that's since been cannibalized into a renewed version produced by Phil Ek (Modest Mouse, Built to Spill) and tailored for Jack Johnson's Brushfire label. Most of the original tunes are reordered here, save "Desire's Only Fling," "Whiskey & Wine" and "Shimmering Fields," which are omitted; and "Sweet Thursday," "These Arms," "Ballad of Miss Kate" and "I Tried," which are new. There's also a digipak version, not to mention an iTunes edition and varying copies floating around Europe, Japan and Australia.

Likewise, Margot and so on reconsidered their first step out the door by resequencing, remixing and remastering her Dust debut, which now has a new version of "Light on a Hill" as well. Still soaring after their sizzling SXSW gigs, the band's debut is coming back through Artemis instead of Standard Recording Co. Way to make an entrance, guys.

Rammstein's Rosenrot: Wade past "Mann Gegen Mann" and "Wo Bist Du" and you'll come across an unexpected duet between the wicked-heavy Germans and Scotland's Sharleen Spiteri, who you may recall from her previous band Texas. And venture beyond that song and you'll stumble across "Te Quiero Puta!," a Spanish-spoken track you can translate for yourself. Now that's multiculturalism.

Seth Kauffman's Ting: File this one under "Been Around the World, Made My Own Album Too." Roots-soul singer reminisces about his travels to Jamaica and Africa (to study field recordings) and the Swiss Alps (to, uh, snowboard) on his maiden LP voyage, handling all the instruments, plus production and engineering, by himself. Don't miss the hidden pre-track, "Thick," at the beginning of the record (start playing song 1 and scroll backward) and the one tucked at the end, "Juicy."

New Releases:

Notable Reissues and Archival Material:

  • Abba - Chronicles (three CDs; Polydor/ UME)
  • George Benson - The Essential George Benson (two CDs; Columbia/Legacy)
  • Bon Jovi - Chronicles (three CDs; Mercury/ UME)
  • Bread - 2 CD Definitive Collection (Rhino)
  • Celestial Season - Solar Lovers (Displeased)
  • The Cure - Faith, Pornography, Seventeen Seconds and Three Imaginary Boys (Rhino)
  • Doobie Brothers - 2 CD Definitive Collection (Rhino)
  • George Jones - The Essential George Jones (two CDs; Epic/ Legacy)
  • George Duke - The Essential George Duke (two CDs; Epic/ Legacy)
  • Ramsey Lewis - The Very Best of Ramsey Lewis (GRP)
  • Loretta Lynn - Chronicles (three CDs; MCA Nashville/ UME)
  • Tim McGraw - Greatest Hits Vol 2 (Curb)
  • Roy Orbison - The Essential Roy Orbison (two CDs; Monument/ Orbison Records/ Legacy)
  • Junior Wells - An Introduction to Junior Wells (Fuel)
  • Whiplash - Insult to Injury (Displeased)
  • Bill Wyman - Stoned Alone: The Solo Anthology 1974-2001 (two CDs; Sanctuary)
  • Various artists - Best of the Boy Bands (Time Life)
  • Various artists - Chronicles: Music Inspired by the Big Chill (three CDs; Hip-O/ UME)


  • Abba - "Abba: The Movie" (Polydor/ UME)
  • Chris Botti - "Live: With Orchestra & Special Guests" (special fanpack edition with bonus CD also available; Columbia)
  • Destiny's Child - "Live in Atlanta" (Columbia)
  • Barry Manilow - "Manilow: Music and Passion - Live From Las Vegas" (Rhino)

Coming Attractions:

April 4:

April 11:

April 18:

  • The Dresden Dolls - Yes, Virginia ... (digipak; Roadrunner)
  • NOFX - Wolves in Wolves Clothing (Fat Wreck Chords)
  • Various artists - "Coachella" (Epitaph)