Stevie Nicks, Don Henley, Lenny Kravitz On New Sheryl Crow LP

Still-untitled follow-up to The Globe Sessions due in late March.

All of Sheryl Crow's collaborating over the last couple of years apparently gave the singer some ideas for her fourth studio album.

The as-yet-untitled follow-up to 1998's The Globe Sessions, due in late March, will include contributions from several big-name artists, including Stevie Nicks, Don Henley, Lenny Kravitz and the Dixie Chicks' Natalie Maines, according to Crow's Interscope Records spokesperson. "Soak up the Sun," the album's first single, is due in February and features additional vocals by fellow female rocker (and could-be twin sister) Liz Phair.

Nicks, who appeared on Crow's 1999 live album, Sheryl Crow and Friends: Live From Central Park (see "Sheryl Crow Sets December Date For Star-Studded Live Album"), sings on "You're Not the One." Crow and Nicks recently collaborated on Nicks' Trouble in Shangri-La (2001), sharing vocals on "It's Only Love." Crow also produced several tracks on Nicks' record.

Eagles singer Henley, who's among the artists Crow sang backup for early on in her career, appears on the track "It's So Easy." Kravitz sings on "You're an Original," and Maines adds her signature twang to "Abilene." Crow and Maines performed several songs together at a breast cancer benefit in Los Angeles last fall, including Crow's "It Don't Hurt" (see "Mary J. Blige, Pat Benatar Take On Breast Cancer, Prove Women Rock!"). Maines' Dixie Chicks also appear on Sheryl Crow and Friends: Live From Central Park.

Other guests on the upcoming album are folk and country veteran Emmylou Harris ("Weather Channel") and blues guitarist Doyle Bramhall II ("Steve McQueen," "Over You").

Since the release of The Globe Sessions, which featured the single "My Favorite Mistake," Crow has recorded with an array of artists, from Tony Bennett (see "Sheryl Crow, Stevie Wonder, Ray Charles To Appear On Tony Bennett LP") to Kid Rock (see "Kid Rock Is Cocky, Calls Out 'Your Mama' With Snoop").

While recording in New York last summer, Crow played several high-profile club shows that included many of the guests on her album along with Rolling Stones guitarist Keith Richards (see "Sheryl Crow Jams With Kid Rock, More In New York").

In other Crow news, she was just added to the list of presenters for the American Music Awards in Los Angeles on Wednesday night. The show will be broadcast live on ABC.

Tentative track list for Sheryl Crow's upcoming album, according to her spokesperson:

  • "Steve McQueen"

  • "Soak up the Sun"

  • "You're an Original"

  • "It's So Easy"

  • "Over You"

  • "It's Only Love"

  • "Weather Channel"

  • "You're Not the One"

  • "Missing"

  • "Abilene"

  • "Slave"

  • "Safe and Sound"