Joe Strummer Set To Release Third Solo Record

Label spokesperson says Global a Go-Go sounds more Van Morrison than Clash.

Joe Strummer, frontman for defunct punk-rock titans the Clash, is no longer maintaining work habits that leave a decade between album releases.

As opposed to the 10-year lag between 1989's Earthquake Weather and 1999's Rock Art & the X-Ray Style, it has taken Strummer only two years to complete his third solo record, Global a Go-Go, which will be released July 24, according to an Epitaph Records spokesperson.

Strummer, the nom du rock of John Mellor, is accompanied by his backing band the Mescaleros on Global a Go-Go. It was recorded at Battery Studios in London with producer Richard Flack. The Epitaph spokesperson said the record has more in common with Van Morrison's Astral Weeks than any Clash record.

The track listing for Global a Go-Go:

  • "Johnny Appleseed"

  • "Bhindi Bhagee"

  • "Bummed Out City"

  • "Cool N' Out"

  • "Global a Go-Go"

  • "Mondo Bongo"

  • "Gamma Ray"

  • "Shaktar Donetsk"

  • "At the Border, Guy"

  • "Mega Bottle Ride"

  • "Minstrel Boy"