Another Ani DiFranco Album Coming Soon

Punk folkie releasing double-disc Reveling/Reckoning on April 24, playing five North American dates in March, April.

Living up to her reputation as one prolific babe, Ani DiFranco will release a double album, Reveling/Reckoning, on April 24.

Each disc's title broadly hints at its theme, according to a representative for the punk folkie. The project, to be issued by her own Righteous Babe Records, currently includes 28 tracks, though more may be added.

DiFranco plays all the instruments on some tracks, while other songs on the LP feature accompaniment by her touring band — bassist Jason Mercer, drummer Daren Hahn, keyboardist Julie Wolf, trumpeter Shane Endsley and saxophonist Hans Teuber. Special guests include Maceo Parker, Jon Hassell and slide guitarist Lloyd Maines.

The Buffalo, New York-born DiFranco has previewed a number of the album's songs in concerts over the last year, including "Subdivision," "So What" and "Garden of Simple."

The singer/songwriter released three albums in 1999 — Up Up Up Up Up Up, Fellow Workers and To the Teeth.

She kicks off an overseas tour January 28 in Manchester, England, and has scheduled five North American dates for late March and April.

Ani DiFranco Tour Dates:

  • 3/27 - Portland, ME @ Merrill Auditorium

  • 4/01 - Ottawa, ON @ Congress Centre

  • 4/04 - Buffalo, NY @ Kleinhans Music Hall

  • 4/19 - Cedar Rapids, IA @ Paramount Theatre

  • 4/20 - Kansas, City, MO @ Uptown Theatre