The Who BBC Sessions To See Release In 2000

Fans of The Who, not to mention the members of the band, are most likely eagerly anticipating the year 2000.

The group's surviving members -- Pete Townshend, Roger Daltrey, and John Entwistle -- seemed to be having a blast at their recent concert appearances and are considering extending their brief reunion into next year. In addition to whatever that may bring, fans will be getting a collection of mostly unreleased recordings with the band's original lineup, featuring their late drummer, Keith Moon.

Due in stores on February 15 is "The Who: The BBC Sessions," featuring performances recorded by the band from 1965 to 1973 for a variety of British radio shows. Townshend, Daltrey, and Entwistle were all involved in putting the collection together.

Included on the album will be live versions of a number of Who classics, such as "Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere," "My Generation," "Substitute," and "I'm Free," along with a number of more obscure tunes, such as "The Good's

Gone" and "La La La Lies." Also on the album will be a few rare covers, including the band's interpretations of Martha & The Vandellas' "Dancing In The Streets" and The Young Rascals' "Good Lovin'."

Looking ahead, the band members have said that they are planning to begin work on their first studio album since 1982's "It's Hard" and that the record should be out sometime next year (see "The Who To Return To The Studio").

The group just completed a string of five reunion dates, which included a concert for Pixelon's iBash '99 in Las Vegas, two nights at Neil Young's annual Bridge School Benefit Concert in San Francisco, and a two-night stand at the House Of Blues in Chicago (see "Offspring, Kiss, Dixie Chicks, Others To Join The Who In Vegas", "How Do You Follow The Who? Smashing Pumpkins, Pearl Jam, Others Play Bridge"

and "Eddie Vedder And The Who In Chicago").

The complete track list for "The Who: The BBC Sessions:"

  • "My Generation/Radio One Jingle"
  • "Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere"
  • "Good Lovin'"
  • "Just You And Me, Darling"
  • "Leaving Here"
  • "My Generation"
  • "The Good's Gone"
  • "La La La Lies"
  • "Substitute"
  • "Dancing In The Street"
  • "Disguises"
  • "I'm A Boy"
  • "Run Run Run"
  • "Boris The Spider"
  • "Happy Jack"
  • "See My Way"
  • "Pictures Of Lily"
  • "Substitute (version two)"
  • "A Quick One"
  • "The Seeker"
  • "I'm Free"
  • "Shakin' All Over"
  • "The Relay"
  • "Long Live Rock"
  • "Boris The Spider/Radio One Jingle"