Cake Return With Magic

Cake, Chubby Checker, Pat Boone, Master P, Gomez, Ryu, David Bowie...

Quirky Sacramento, Calif., rock band Cake will release their new album,

Prolonging the Magic, on Oct. 6. The 13-song effort features the new,

beat-fueled single, "Never There," as well as the songs "Mexico," "Satan Is

My Motor," "Sheep Go to Heaven" and "Walk On By." The album was recorded

with a number of different guitarists filling in for Greg Brown, who

left the group earlier this year, and with bassist Gabe Nelson, who

rejoined the band following the departure of Victor Damiani.