Getty Images

From Intersex Teens To Hispanic Witch Hunters: You Need These Diverse Books In Your Life

We hope you have ample room on your shelves.

Don't relate to Katniss? Can't see yourself in any of the Factions? Don't know where you would be sorted? Well, the YA world isn't just about the heavy-hitters (which, more often than not, are mostly replete with white characters) -- there are tons of books out there that feature stories anyone and everyone can relate to, Muggles or no.

Behold: Some of the wildly diverse books MTV News -- and a cadre of authors -- are looking forward to in 2015.

  1. Valerie describes her upcoming book as 'The Mortal Instruments' meets 'Buffy the Vampire Slayer' set in the cutthroat world of Hollywood -- all featuring a kick-ass Hispanic leading lady, Iris. That's enough to get my finger hovering over 'pre-order.' Oh, and I really want to know how one hunts a witch - Brenna Ehrlich

  2. Adam Silvera's turn-the-pages-while-you-cry book centers around Aaron Soto, a Bronx teen who grapples with his feelings for his friend Thomas -- all the while trying to hide them from his less-than-understanding friends. The pressure of being gay in a neighborhood that doesn't accept him -- coupled with his father's suicide and his own attempt -- lead him to consider turning to the Leteo procedure, which promises to erase all troublesome memories that stand in the way of happiness. This is a cry-on-the-subway book, so watch out - Ehrlich

  3. Sixteen-year-old Simon Spier is a Harry Potter-loving, Oreo-obsessed teenage boy who happens to be gay but isn't out yet. Simon exchanges romantic emails with his anonymous pen pal, Blue, and the two challenge identity in a very refreshing way -- most notably pondering how everyone should have to come out and reintroduce themselves to the world, and not just those who are gay. This generation of teens coming out will find security in their sexuality within these pages, even if Simon himself is blackmailed over his private emails -- that's just half of the book's fun. - Adam Silvera

  4. An important book that really everyone should read this year. I think the topic of intersex is something not very many people are educated about, which is why we desperately need diverse books like 'None of the Above' in young adult literature. Plus, author I.W. Gregorio is the VP of Development for the We Need Diverse Books organization so she’s doing some pretty remarkable things to help promote diversity! - Valerie Tejeda

  5. Another one high on my list of books to read in 2015. Obviously, I'm a fan of diverse kick-butt heroines, so when I heard there was a story about a young Muslim-American private eye that’s perfect for fans of 'Veronica Mars,' I was completely sold! We definitely need more books with diverse heroines like 'Scarlet Undercover' to show readers that being a hero spans beyond being Caucasian. - Tejeda

  6. I'm also really excited for Stacey Lee's Under 'The Painted Sky.' I'm just now getting into young adult historical fiction and Stacey's story about a Chinese girl in 1849 on the Oregon Trail sounds absolutely fantastic. It’s a heart-wrenching survival story, which always makes for a great read! Author Stacey Lee is also a We Need Diverse book founding member and will be releasing another diverse YA called 'Unsinkable Mercy Wong' in 2016. - Tejeda

  7. A heartbreaking and life-affirming novel about the suicide pact between two teens and the growing bond between them. But there's a lot going on here culturally for readers to admire as well. Sixteen-year-old Aysel, the daughter of Turkish immigrants, feels like an outsider in her small Kentucky town with classmates who can't pronounce her name -- and even inside her new family after her mother remarried a white man with two children of their own. And while Aysel's struggle with her identity is pushing her to the edge, the novel itself is about the love and self-acceptance that can save herself and a boy who's ready to die. - Silvera

  8. We're always talking about race and sexuality when it comes to a demand for diversity in books, but representation of mental health is equally as important and David Arnold tackles it head-on in his debut novel about a girl's odyssey to Mississippi after learning that her mother is sick. During her travels Mim meets Walt, an unforgettable character with Down syndrome, a condition that is also severely underrepresented in fiction. I can't imagine this stunning novel without him. - Silvera

  9. This novel introduces us to a Pakistani-American girl named Naila, whose conservative parents force her into an unwanted arranged marriage. Naila’s story is absolutely gut-wrenching, and Saeed pulls no punches. This is a powerfully emotional book with a hard-earned, satisfying ending. - Becky Albertalli

  10. This novel follows up Adler’s addictive debut, "Behind The Scenes," giving us more of bad boy Josh Chester and down-to-earth starlet Vanessa Park. Adler is the master of flirtatious banter and swoony love scenes, so there’s no question that this is one of my most-anticipated 2015 releases. I’m especially excited about Vanessa’s love story with her new career handler, Brianna. - Albertalli

  11. I’m a really picky reader when it comes to fantasy, but this ancient Rome-inspired book completely blew me away. The story is split between two points of view: a soldier named Elias and a Scholar named Laia (who happens to be both a total badass and a POC). This book is dark, complex, vivid, and romantic –- expect to be completely transported. - Albertalli