T.I. Explains Inspiration Behind F--- A Mixtape Title

Tip tells Mixtape Daily that the controversial name is 'in no way a direct shot to a DJ.'

The O.D.: A Mixtape Daily Exclusive

T.I. said he isn't dissing mixtape DJs or making a disparaging statement about the mixtape circuit by naming his new street project F--- a Mixtape. Rather, the King of the South said, he's actually going up against people who tried to discourage him from making a mixtape at this point in his multiplatinum, Grammy-winning career.

"F--- a mixtape" was a common response T.I. got when he started telling people that he was, in fact, going to drop a mixtape before he put out his King Uncaged LP, due in August. Some felt Tip should just focus on the album, while others thought he should do a film. Nah. Tip wanted to give back to the streets.

"There's so many songs I have recorded [for King Uncaged]," he told Mixtape Daily earlier this week in NYC. "I already have 60, 70 songs. A lot of these songs are period pieces that speak volumes to what's going on right now. If I hold onto them next year or the year after, they'll be dated, because my life will be in another direction. If I'm not gonna put it on the album — and they all can't make the album — then they might as well have another platform to present it to the world. Me, myself, personally, I feel that although I haven't done mixtapes, it's not 'cause I can't. It's 'cause I have so many other pressing issues that are on my plate, I have chose to work on that.

"F--- a Mixtape, that's in no way a direct shot to a DJ. 'Cause for other people, [a mixtape] works wonders. It do what it's supposed to do," he added. "For me, I do what I need to do. That's a common knowledge around the industry. I got enough music to go around. I can drop a song a day three or five years straight and still be cool. But F--- a Mixtape, it got the response it was supposed to get. It got people thinking, it got people talking, and it generated a demand."

F--- a Mixtape is co-hosted by DJ Drama and DJ MLK and features guest appearances from Lil Wayne, Mike Bigga, Young Jeezy, MacBoney and Tip's cousin Rich Kid Rashad. Jamie Foxx appears on the tape's intro, and Lil Duval and Kevin Hart do skits and interludes. Meanwhile, Swizz Beatz, Lil C, Smash Factory and DJ Toomp are among the producers. F--- a Mixtape drops Thursday night (May 27) via LiveMixtapes.com.

F--- a Mixtape's track list, according to DJ Drama:

1. "Intro" (Jamie Foxx)

2. "Welcome Back to the Trap" (produced by Smash Factory)

3. "Spazz Out" (produced by Swizz Beatz)

4. "Whatcha Saying Tip" (produced by Chuck Diesel)

5. "Yeah" (featuring Lil Wayne and produced by Lil C)

6. "Yeah Ya Know" (produced by DJ Toomp and Lil C)

7. "Once Upon a Time"

8. "Here We Go Again" (produced by Timbaland)

9. "Get Yo Girl (featuring Rich Kid Rashad and produced by Jim Jonsin)

10. "Like So" (produced by Lil C)

11. "Gettin' Paid" (produced by Track Slayers)

12. "F--- a Mixtape N---a!!!" (Lil Duval)

13. "Really Livin' Like That" (produced by DJ Toomp)

14. "Whether You Like It or Not" (produced by Amadeus)

15. "Shooting Range" (Jamie Foxx)

16. "No Competition" (featuring Young Jeezy and produced by Black Mob)

17. "Bi--- Who" (featuring MacBoney and produced by Lil C)

18. "Ready Set Go" (featuring Mike Bigga and produced by No I.D.)

19. "F--- a Mixtape" (Kevin Hart)

20. "Outro"

21. "Celebration" (produced by J-Rock)

Bonus track: "Got Your Back" (featuring Keri Hilson and produced by DJ Toomp)

For other artists featured in Mixtape Daily, check out Mixtape Daily Headlines or follow the Mixtape Daily team on Twitter: @shaheemreid and @mongosladenyc.