New Releases: Weezer, Dave Matthews Band, Superstars #1 Hits Remixed, Spoon, Robert Plant & More

Also due Tuesday are albums from Pray for the Soul of Betty and Team Sleep.

Harvard student, meditation aficionado and prolific musician Rivers Cuomo will give fans what they have been aching for this week as Weezer release their first album in three years.

Led by the single "Beverly Hills," Make Believe is the band's fifth studio album and the follow-up to 2002's Maladroit. The album comes chock-full of expectedly self-analytical musings, along with some sunnier instrumentals.

The Dave Matthews Band are back to doing what they do best — packing in jammy, summery grooves. The band's 13th album, Stand Up, is its first studio LP since 2002's Busted Stuff and arrives on the heels of its melancholic debut single, "American Baby."

If you've ever listened to Christina Aguilera's ballad "Beautiful" and wished you could implant a thumping techno beat into the instrumentals, Superstars #1 Hits Remixed will make your electro-dreams come true. The album features pumped-up remixes of tracks including Kelly Clarkson's "Since U Been Gone," Dido's "White Flag" and Maroon 5's "This Love."

For those looking for slightly more inventive, upbeat rock, there's the newest release from Austin, Texas, quartet Spoon. The band's Gimme Fiction hits stores this week. A bit north, Brooklyn-bred all-female trio FannyPack take a walk on the brazen side of hip-hop with their newest release, See You Next Tuesday.

Led Zeppelin frontman Robert Plant releases his newest album with the Strange Sensation, Mighty Rearranger, while Canadian import Bryan Adams delivers with Room Service. Fans of "American Idol" rocker Constantine Maroulis, meanwhile, may want to check out the self-titled debut by his band, Pray for the Soul of Betty.

Also out this week are albums by Sloan (A Sides Win: Singles 1992-2005), John Cena & Tha Trademarc (You Can't See Me), Goldie Lookin Chain (Straight Outta Newport), Story of the Year (Live in the Loo: Bassassins), Styx (Big Bang Theory), Athlete (Tourist), Hal (Hal), Scout Niblett (Kidnapped by Neptune) and Team Sleep (Team Sleep).

Out Tuesday May 10:

  • Bryan Adams - Room Service (Mercury Nashville)

    Buy Now: Room Service (Mercury Nashville)

  • Athlete - Tourist (Astralwerks)
  • Billy Bang - Vietnam: Reflections (Justin Time)
  • Dierks Bentley - Modern Day Drifter (Capitol Nashville)
  • Alison Brown - Stolen Moments (Compass)
  • John Cena & Tha Trademarc - You Can't See Me (Columbia)
  • Cheb I Sabbah - La Kahena (Six Degrees)
  • Graham Collier - Workpoints (Cuneiform)
  • Bobby Conn & the Glass Gypsies - Live Classics Vol. 1 (Thrill Jockey)
  • Cranked Up! - This Is a Weapon (Blackout)
  • A Day to Remember - And Their Name Was Treason (Indianola)
  • DDM - Snow on the TV EP (Dim Mak)
  • Electrelane - Axes (Too Pure/ Beggars)
  • Estampie - Signum (Noir)
  • FannyPack - See You Next Tuesday (Tommy Boy)
  • Renée Fleming - Haunted Heart (Decca)
  • The Frank & Joe Show - 66 2/3 (Hyena)
  • Rosario Giuliani - More Than Ever (Dreyfus)
  • Goldie Lookin Chain - Straight Outta Newport (Record Collection)
  • Parry Gripp - For Those About to Shop, We Salute You (Oglio)
  • Gush - Norrköping (Atavistic)
  • GZR - Ohmwork (Sanctuary)
  • Hal - Hal (Rough Trade)
  • Headphones - The Headphones (Suicide Squeeze)
  • The Hootz - Too Hoot to Handle (Koch)
  • Robert Earl Keen - What I Really Mean (Koch)
  • James Kochalka Superstar - Our Most Beloved (Rykodisc)
  • Bryan Lee - Live and Dangerous (Justin Time)
  • Fred Longberg-Holm Trio - Other Valentines (Atavistic)
  • Joe Lovano - Joyous Encounter (Blue Note)
  • Dave Matthews Band - Stand Up (RCA)
  • Mercury Switch - Time to Shine (Indianola)
  • Miriodor - Parade + Live at Nearfest (Cuneiform)
  • Calvin Newborn - New Born (Yellow Dog)
  • Scout Niblett - Kidnapped by Neptune (Too Pure/ Beggars)
  • Old School Freight Train - Run (Acoustic Disc)
  • Pacifics - Sunday's Chicken (All Natural Inc)
  • Stephen Pearcy - Fueler (Cleopatra)
  • Picastro - Metal Cares (Polyvinyl)
  • Robert Plant and the Strange Sensation - Mighty Rearranger


  • Pray for the Soul of Betty - Pray for the Soul of Betty (Koch)
    Read: " 'Idol' Singer Constantine Maroulis' Band Inks Label Deal"
  • Present - A Great Inhumane Adventure (Cuneiform)
  • Prince Paul - Itstrumental (Female Fun)
  • Psychograss - Now Hear This (Adventure)
  • The Punks - Thank You for the Alternative Rock (5 Rue Christine/ Kill Rock Stars)
  • Qntal - IV (Dancing Ferret)
  • Radio Massacre International - Emissaries (Cuneiform)
  • The Robot Ate Me - Carousel Waltz (5 Rue Christine/ Kill Rock Stars)
  • Sharp Things - Foxes & Hounds (Bar/None)
  • Sloan -A Sides Win: Singles 1992-2005 (Koch)
  • Spookie Daly Pride - Medicine Chest (Funzalo)
  • Spoon - Gimme Fiction (Merge)
    Read: "The Truth About Spoon's Fiction? You Could Call It A Whim"
  • The Starting Line - Based on a True Story (Drive-Thru)
  • Story of the Year - Live in the Loo: Bassassins (Maverick)
  • Styx - Big Bang Theory (Universal)
  • Team Sleep - Team Sleep (Maverick)
  • Juliet Turner - Season of the Hurricane (Valley Entertainment)
  • The Unseen - State of Discontent (Hellcat/Epitaph)
  • Van Zant - Get Right With the Man (Columbia)
  • Doug Wamble - Bluestate (Marsalis Music)
  • Weezer - Make Believe (Geffen)
    Read: "Weezer Album Preview: Wailing Guitars And New-Wave Ballads"
  • Lucinda Williams - Live @ the Fillmore (Lost Highway)
  • X - Live in Los Angeles (Shout! Factory)
  • Various artists - Atlantiquity (Rhino)
  • Various artists - Café De La Noche (Sunswept)
  • Various artists - Jazz Lounge Remix (box set, Cleopatra)
  • Various artists - Pure Techno, Vol. 3 (Water Music)
  • Various artists - Superstars #1 Hits Remixed (BMG Heritage)
  • Various artists - The Majestic Collection: The Best of Soul Fire Records (Truth & Soul/ Fastlife)
  • Various artists - "Inside Deep Throat" soundtrack (Koch)
  • Various artists - "Monster-in-Law" soundtrack (New Line)
  • Various artists - "The L Word Sessions" soundtrack (Tommy Boy)
  • DVD: Billy Cobham - "Culturemix: New Morning Paris Concert" (Music Video Distributors)
  • DVD: Robben Ford - "New Morning: Paris Concert" (Music Video


  • DVD: Marillion - "Marbles on the Road" (Music Video Distributors)
  • DVD: Donny Osmond - "Live at Edinburgh Castle" (Decca)
  • DVD: Vibrators - "Live Energized: CBGB 2004" (Music Video Distributors)
  • DVD: Various artists - "The Best of Rock 'n' Roll Greats in Concert" (Passport)

May 17:

May 24:

May 31: