New Releases: Prince, Mario Winans, Afroman, Drowning Pool, Hanson, Ghostface, The Alarm & More

Other artists hitting shelves include Echobrain, Tweaker, Fear Factory.

After being relegated to the bottom of the new releases list week after week, the "various artists" finally got a chance to shine up top this week.

The soundtrack to Jennifer Garner's "13 Going on 30" features throwback hits like "Jessie's Girl" by Rick Springfield, "I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me)" by Whitney Houston, "Head Over Heels" by the Go-Go's, "Crazy for You" by Madonna, "Love Is a Battlefield" by Pat Benatar, "Ice Ice Baby" by Vanilla Ice, and a cover of "What I Like About You" by Lillix.

The punk-political throwdown Rock Against Bush features previously unreleased tracks by Sum 41, Alkaline Trio, Offspring, Get Up Kids, Jello Biafra, the Ataris, New Found Glory, NOFX and songs by Social Distortion and Pennywise. There are also videos included on the CD.

The Hip Hop Box is a four-CD set featuring classic tracks by Run-DMC, Kurtis Blow, Roxanne Shanté, Salt-N-Pepa, Kool Moe Dee, Too Short, Boogie Down Productions, Public Enemy, Biz Markie, A Tribe Called Quest, the Wu-Tang Clan, Busta Rhymes, Gangstarr, the Pharcyde, U.T.F.O., Naughty by Nature, and Afrika Bambaataa and the SoulSonic Force. The set, which commemorates the 25th anniversary of hip-hop, includes songs from 1979 to 2003 and a booklet with a forward written by Chuck D.

Meanwhile, Prince presents Musicology, while the kinder, gentler, non-Killah Ghostface releases The Pretty Toney Album alongside Hanson's Underneath, Drowning Pool's Desensitized, Afroman's Afroholic: The Even Better Times and Mario Winans' Hurt No More.

Chris Vrenna, a founding member of Nine Inch Nails and now the man behind Tweaker, releases his second album, 2 a.m. Wakeup Call. Guests on the album include the Cure's Robert Smith on "Truth Is."

Finally, the Veils celebrate The Runaway Found, and Bright Eyes and Neva Dinova supply One Jug of Wine, Two Vessels.

Out Tuesday, April 20:

  • Afroman - Afroholic the Even Better Times (Hungry Hustler)
  • The Alarm - In the Poppy Fields (Snapper)
  • Alien Crime Syndicate - Ten Songs in the Key of Betrayal (The Control Group)
  • Alkaline Trio/One Man Army - Split Series, Vol. 5 (BYO)
  • Theresa Andersson - Shine (Basin Street)
  • Atombombpocketknife - Lack and Pattern (File 13)
  • Automato - Automato (Coup de Grace)
  • Azita - Life on the Fly (Drag City)
  • Bad Acid Trip - Lynch the Weirdo (Serjical Strike/Columbia)
  • Beyond Surface - Destination's End (Sanctuary/Noise)
  • Black Label Society - Hangover Music, Vol. VI (Spitfire)
  • Norman & Nancy Blake - The Morning Glory Ramblers (DualTone)
  • Brazil - A Hostage and the Meaning of Life (Fearless)
  • Kevin-John Breit and the Sisters - John and the Sisters (NorthernBlues)
  • Bright Eyes/Neva Dinova - One Jug of Wine, Two Vessels (Crank!)
  • George Calle - Dark Beats NYC, Vol. 2 (Oh Music)
  • Cesium_137 - Elemental (Metropolis)
  • Jon Cleary - Pin Your Spin (Basin Street)
  • Debase - Unleashed (Sanctuary/Noise)
  • Demolition Doll Rods - On (Swami)
  • DJ Icey - For the Love of the Beat (System Recordings)
  • Drowning Pool - Desensitized (Wind-Up)
    Read: "New Drowning Pool Singer Says He Had A Vision Before Tryout"
    Buy Now: Desensitized (Wind-Up)
  • Dyecrest - The Way of Pain (Sanctuary/Noise)
  • Echobrain - Glean (Chophouse/Surfdog)
  • Ektomorf - Destroy (Nuclear Blast)
  • Fear Factory - Archetype (Liquid 8)
  • Flight Recorder - From Pinkerton's Assorted Colours to the Flying Machine (Sanctuary/Castle)
  • Jerry Garcia - All Good Things: Jerry Garcia Studio Sessions (box set, Rhino)
  • Ghostface - The Pretty Toney Album (Def Jam)

  • The Glasspack - Bridgeburner (Small Stone)

  • Go Betty Go - Worst Enemy (EP, SideOneDummy)
  • Patty Griffin - Impossible Dream (ATO)
  • Hangmen - Loteria (Acetate)
  • Hanson - Underneath (Three Car Garage)
  • Daniel G. Harmann - The Lake Effect (Post436)
  • Stefon Harris and Blackout - Evolution (Blue Note)
  • Sophie B. Hawkins - Wilderness (Trumpet Swan)
  • Rob Ickes with Blue Highway - Big Time (Rounder)
  • King Wilkie - Broke (Rebel)
  • Kottonmouth Kings - Fire It Up (Suburban Noize)
  • Lach - Today (Fortified)
  • Jon Langford - All the Fame of Lofty Deeds (Bloodshot)
  • LMNO - Economic Food Chain Music (Up Above)
  • Lords - The House That Lords Built (Initial)
  • Martyr A.D. - On Earth as It Is in Hell (Victory)
  • Matt Mau - Lifted: Live in Buenos Aires (Journees)
  • Vinny Miller - On the Block (4AD/Beggars Banquet)
  • Millie - Time Will Tell (Sanctuary/Trojan)

  • John Michael Montgomery - Letters From Home (Warner Bros.)
  • Gurf Morlix - Cut 'n Shoot (Catamount)
  • Norselaw - Sweet Home Scandanavia (Direct Music Group)
  • Persuader - Evolution Purgatory (Sanctuary/Noise)

  • Prince - Musicology (NPG/Columbia)

    Buy Now: Musicology (NPG/Columbia)

  • Lali Puna - Faking the Books (Morr)
  • Ratatat - Ratatat (XL/Beggars Banquet)
  • The Reputation - To Force a Fate (Lookout!)
  • Retisonic - Return to Me (Silverthree Sound)
  • Smokey Robinson - Food for the Spirit (Liquid 8)
  • Keaton Simons - Currently (EP, Maverick)
  • Single Frame - Wetheads Come Running (Volcom)
  • Skalpel - Skalpel (Ninja Tune)
  • Lt. Stitchie - Kingdom Ambassador (Ejaness Reggae)
  • Subdudes - Miracle Mule (Back Porch/EMI)
  • Craig Taborn - Junk Magic (Thirsty Ear)
  • The Talk - It's Like Magic in Reverse (MoRisen)
  • Thelonious Monster - California Clam Chowder (Lakeshore)
  • Time Machine - Reviviscence (Sensory)
  • Tweaker - 2 a.m. Wakeup Call (iMUSIC/Waxploitation)
  • Veils - The Runaway Found (Sanctuary/Rough Trade)

  • Vomitory - Primal Massacre (Metal Blade)
  • W.A.S.P. - Neon God Pt. 1 (Sanctuary/Metal-Is)
  • A Wilhelm Scream - Mute Print (Nitro/Mute Print)
  • Alyson Williams - It's About Time (Three Keys)
  • Mario Winans - Hurt No More (Bad Boy)
    Read: "Love, Hurt, Betrayal: These Are A Few Of Mario Winans' Favorite Things"
  • Wolf - Evil Star (Prosthetic)
  • Various artists - "13 Going on 30" soundtrack (Hollywood)
  • Various artists - Blue Note Revisited (Blue Note)
  • Various artists - Hi Power 2004 (Thump)
  • Various artists - The Hip Hop Box (Hip-O)
  • Various artists - Location Is Everything, Vol. 2 (Jade Tree)
  • Various artists - Pickin' on LeAnn Rimes (CMH)
  • Various artists - Rock Against Bush, Vol. 1 (Fat Wreck Chords/Punkover)
  • Various artists - "Step Into Liquid" soundtrack (Surfdog)
  • Various artists - The String Quartet Tribute to Faith Hill (Vitamin)
  • Various artists - The String Quartet Tribute to Alicia Keys (Vitamin)
  • Various artists - The String Quartet Tribute to Kiss (Vitamin)
  • Various artists - Underground Chicano Rap Soundtrack (Thump)

April 27:

  • Diana Krall - The Girl in the Other Room (Verve)
  • Joey McIntyre - 8:09 (Artemis)
  • Patti Smith - Trampin' (Sony)
  • Various artists - "American Idol" Season 3: Greatest Soul Classics (RCA)

May 4:

May 18:

  • Alanis Morissette - So Called Chaos (Maverick)
  • Morrissey - You Are the Quarry (Sanctuary)

May 25: