New Releases: 'Freaky Friday' Soundtrack, Revolution Smile, Bad Brains, Nickelback, Misfits, JS & More

The Revolution Smile kick off this week. Well, at least the Flawless version. After releasing two independent albums, the band's debut on Fred Durst's label, Above the Noise, hits shelves this week. Produced by David Sardy (Marilyn Manson) and mixed by Andy Wallace (Korn, Nirvana), Above the Noise is the Revolution Smile's riff against all the cookie-cutter music out there. And singer/guitarist Shaun Lopez must really believe in his work because at one time he refused an invitation to play with Limp Bizkit.

Bad Brains' Banned in DC: Bad Brains' Greatest Riffs features 23 tracks from the quintessential hardcore band's history. Also included are previously unreleased tracks. Meanwhile, sisters Kim and Kandy Johnson, better known as JS, release their album Ice Cream. Dubious semantic associations aside, "Slow Grind," "Love Angel" and the "Ice Cream" remix are among the tracks produced by R. Kelly. Continuing in the grand tradition of seduction using ice cream as a metaphor for sex, the girls sing, "Come and get a scoop of my ice cream, baby/ JS got the flavors that I know will drive you crazy."

Two CD/DVD releases come out this week. First up, the Misfits' Project 1950, which features 10 songs and live footage, while Nickelback re-release their 2001 album, Silver Side Up, with a DVD, Live From Home, which shows the band performing live at a homecoming show in Edmonton, Alberta. Also on the disc are videos, interviews and a brand new song.

Finally, how could we not give a special shout-out to Frank Stallone's In Love in Vain, his ambitious foray into singing the songs of Frank Sinatra and Bobby Darin? Oh yeah. That's how.

Out Tuesday, July 29:

  • Daevid Allen's Universe of Errors - Ugly Music for Monica (Weed)

  • Amy Allison - No Frills Friend (Diesel Only)

  • Android Lust - The Dividing (Projekt)

  • Avia - I See That Now (NuTone)

  • Bad Brains - Banned in DC: Bad Brains' Greatest Riffs (Caroline)

  • Balzac - Beyond the Darkness (Rykodisc)

  • Bled - Pass the Flask (MCA)

  • Blue Rodeo - Palace of Gold (Rounder)

  • Boss Bytch - Twisted (Diamond Productions)

  • Britny Fox - Springhead Motorshark (Spitfire)

  • Hiram Bullock - Try Livin' It (ESC)

  • Big Al Downing - One of a Kind (Hayden's Ferry)

  • Capture the Flag - Start From Scratch (Go Kart)

  • Defari - Odds and Evens (High Times)

  • Echo 7 - One Step Away (De Goot/Universal)

  • Exhumed - Anatomy Is Destiny (Relapse)

  • Anson Funderburgh & the Rockets - Which Way Is Texas? (Bullseye Blues & Jazz)

  • Joe Jackson - Night and Day (A&M)

  • Jazzupstarts - Are You OK? (NuTone)

  • JS - Ice Cream (DreamWorks)

  • Kalmah - Swampsong (Century Media)

  • Labyrinth - Labyrinth (Century Media)

  • Yo-Yo Ma - Obrigado Brazil (Sony Classical)

  • Kate McGarry - Show Me (Palmetto)

  • The Misfits - Project 1950 (Rykodisc)

  • Mob Figaz - Mob Figaz (Warlock)

  • Nevermore - Enemies of Reality (Century Media)

  • Nickelback - Silver Side Up/Live at Home (Roadrunner)

  • Nightrage - Sweet Vengeance (Century Media)

  • Paint It Black - CVA (Jade Tree)

  • Regurgitate - Deviant (Relapse)

  • Revolution Smile - Above the Noise (Geffen)

    Read: "Revolution Smile Mock 'Return Of Rock,' Promise Something New"

  • The Sabians - Shiver (The Music Cartel)

  • Dan Sartain - Dan Sartain Vs. The Serpientes (Swami)

  • The Sleepy Jackson - Lovers (Astralwerks)

  • Sprites - Starling, Spiders, Tiger & Sprites (W.A.R.)

  • Squirtgun - Fade to Bright (Honest Don's)

  • Frank Stallone - In Love in Vain (Simba)

  • Dave Stryker and Steve Slagle - The Stryker/Slagle Band (Khaeon World Music)

  • Swollen Members - Balance Instrumentals (Battle Axe)

  • T-Mack - Out Tha Frame (Diamond Productions)

  • Teen Idols - Nothing to Prove (Fueled by Ramen)

  • Tora! Tora! Torrance! - A Cynic's Nightmare (The Militia Group)

  • Tuatara - The Loading Program(Fast Horse)

  • Tina Turner - Country My Way (K-Tel)

  • Unearthly Trance - Season of Seance, Science of Silence (The Music Cartel)

  • Chris Von Sneidern - The Wild Horse (Innerstate)

  • Carla Werner - Departure (Columbia)

  • Whatever It Takes - A Fistful of Revolution (A-F)

  • Patti Wicks - Love Locked Out (MAXJAZZ)

  • Zs - Zs (Troubleman Unlimited)

  • Various artists - Arabian Travels 2 (Six Degrees Travel Series)

  • Various artists - The Best of Caribbean Party Rhythms (Victory World)

  • Various artists - "Freaky Friday" soundtrack (Hollywood)

  • Various artists - Holiday Remixed (Basic Lux)

  • Various artists - "Le Divorce" soundtrack (Grandstand)

  • Various artists - Reggae Singers Revenge (Jammin/Lightyear)

  • Various artist - Survive & Advance Vol. 3 (Merge)

  • Various artists - Unleaded Reggae Diamond (Adex/Lightyear)

  • DVD - Black Label Society - "Boozed, Bruised & Broken Boned" (Eagle Vision)

  • DVD - India.Arie - "Music in High Places: Live in Brazil" (Image Entertainment)

August 5:

August 12:

August 19:

August 26:

September 2:

  • Mariah Carey - Remixes (Sony)

September 9:

September 16:

October 7: