Mos Def Kicks Out The 'Jam' For Underground Compilation

Underground Airplay Version 1.0 features Killah Priest, X-ecutioners, more.

Mos Def, Killah Priest and the X-ecutioners have joined some of the biggest names in underground hip-hop to contribute cuts to the compilation album Underground Airplay Version 1.0, set for release October 16.

Four of the album's 30 tracks are exclusive to the LP, including its first single, Mos Def's version of Newcleus' 1984 hit, "Jam on It," and D-Prosper's remix of "Y'all Know the Name" by the X-ecutioners featuring Pharoahe Monch, Xzibit, Inspectah Deck and Skills, according to the record's publicist. "Jam on It" was shipped to radio last week.

The album was mixed by DJ Spinbad, who serves as Moby's touring DJ.

Underground Airplay Version 1.0 promises to be the first in a three-album series for Mic Media, a new label founded by the producers of the Lyricist Lounge, a multi-faceted hip-hop brand that has launched open-mic nights, compilation albums and an annual package tour, as well as MTV's music/sketch comedy program "The Lyricist Lounge Show." The next installment of Underground Airplay is expected in February.

Underground Airplay Version 1.0 track list, according to the album's publicist:

  • Killah Priest - "Heat of the Moment"

  • HOM - "Lounge Promo"

  • Skeme Team - "Nuthin' You Can Do (W.Y.B.)"

  • Self Scientific - "Return"

  • Maspyke - "54th Regiment"

  • Jane Doe - "Bisexual"

  • Casual - "Same O.G."

  • Zion I - "Boom Bip"

  • Kardinal Offishall - "Ol' Time Killin' "

  • Mos Def - "Jam on It"

  • Boogieman - "Just U Wait"

  • Masta Ace - "Acknowledge"

  • Punch & Words - "Let Me Be"

  • Hemisphere - "It's Time"

  • Phil the Agony (featuring Defari) - "Clear the Lane"

  • Lord Have Mercy - "We Will"

  • Obie Trice - "Yo!"

  • Asheru & Blue Black of Unspoken Heard - "Truly Unique"

  • Tahir - "Holiday"

  • Invincible (featuring Helixx) - "Perfectionists"

  • Bahamadia (featuring Planet Asia and Rasco) - "Special Forces"

  • Quasimoto - "Curse on You"

  • The X-ecutioners (featuring Pharoahe Monch, Xzibit, Inspectah Deck and Skills) - "Y'all Know the Name"

  • Mystic (featuring DJ Revolution) - "Current Events"

  • Young Zee (featuring Rah Digga) - "I Love It"

  • Rise & Shine - "Blazin' (Stay Building Eternal)"

  • The Bad Seed - "Smokey"

  • D-stroy - "Roll Out"

  • Richie Balance & Rack-Lo - "Good Luck and Bad Luck"

  • San Quinn - "Center of Attention"