Velvet Underground Dig Up Bootleg Series

Three-disc live album recorded by influential group in 1969 to hit stores August 28.

A previously unreleased three-disc live album by the Velvet Underground will come out August 28, three decades after the influential rock group fizzled out.

Titled The Velvet Underground Bootleg Series, Volume 1: The Quine Tapes, the set consists of material taped in 1969 by Robert Quine, a founding member of Richard Hell and the Voidoids who later played guitar with VU co-founder Lou Reed, Tom Waits and Matthew Sweet. The songs were culled from three shows, two in San Francisco (at the Family Dog and The Matrix) and one in St. Louis (at Washington University), and were recorded on a portable Sony tape machine through a hand-held microphone.

The set features material from the Velvet Underground's first two albums, The Velvet Underground and Nico and White Light/White Heat, and includes "Heroin," "Femme Fatale," "Venus in Furs," "White Light/White Heat" and multiple versions of "Sister Ray," "Foggy Notion" and "I'm Waiting for the Man."

The only previously released recording from The Quine Tapes is "Rock & Roll," which appeared on 1969: Velvet Underground Live.

A year after Quine's recordings, the band released its fourth and final studio album with VU founding members, Loaded. Lou Reed quit shortly thereafter. His final appearance with the band was documented on the 1972 disc Live at Max's Kansas City, which was also recorded on a portable tape machine.

Universal plans to release other live Velvet Underground titles during the coming year.

The full track list of The Velvet Underground Bootleg Series, Volume 1: The Quine Tapes, according to the project's publicist:

Disc One

  • "I'm Waiting for the Man"

  • "Too Much"

  • "What Goes On"

  • "I Can't Stand It"

  • "Some Kinda Love"

  • "Foggy Notion"

  • "Femme Fatale"

  • "After Hours"

  • "I'm Sticking With You"

  • "Sunday Morning"

  • "Sister Ray"

Disc Two

  • "Follow the Leader"

  • "White Light/White Heat"

  • "Venus in Furs"

  • "Heroin"

  • "Sister Ray"

Disc Three

  • "Rock & Roll"

  • "New Age"

  • "Over You"

  • "The Black Angel's Death Song"

  • "I'm Waiting for the Man"

  • "Ride Into the Sun"

  • "Sister Ray/Foggy Notion"