Matchbox 20 Readies New Album, Tour

After finding a critical and commercial bonanza during his time with Carlos Santana, Rob Thomas is back with his Matchbox 20 counterparts and plans to soon hit the road in support of the group's upcoming album.

Thomas and Matchbox 20 will try to follow up 1996's "Yourself Or Someone Like You" (which scored an RIAA Diamond Award for sales over 10 million) with "Mad Season By Matchbox Twenty" on May 23.

Aside from opting to write out "twenty" instead of return to the numeral that graced the cover of its debut album, the band is also touting frontman Rob Thomas as the group's "central songwriter." During the four years since the last Matchbox effort, Thomas used his downtime to pen Carlos Santana's number one hit and multiple Grammy winner "Smooth."

When "Mad Season By Matchbox Twenty" arrives next month, fans will find Thomas and his colleagues playing their trade to "Angry," "Black & White People," "Crutch," "Last Beautiful Girl," "If You're Gone,"

"Mad Season," "Rest Stop," "The Burn," "Bent," "Bed Of Lies," "Leave," "Stop," and "You Won't Be Mine."

The group will also trot the new songs out on a tour that kicks off on May 20 in Washington, D.C. Here's where you can find them (venues have yet to be announced):

  • 5/20 - Washington, DC
  • 5/21 - Philadelphia, PA
  • 5/24 - Boston, MA
  • 5/25 - Boston, MA
  • 5/27 - Detroit, MI
  • 5/28 - Toronto, ON
  • 5/30 - Chicago, IL
  • 5/31 - St. Louis, MO
  • 6/2 - Houston, TX
  • 6/3 - Dallas, TX
  • 6/6 - Los Angeles, CA
  • 6/7 - San Francisco, CA