Lauryn Hill, Maxwell, Roots Line Up For "Best Man," Due Out October 12

Hitting stores next month will be "The Best Man -- Music From The Motion Picture," a collection of new songs from some of the biggest names in R&B.

The Roots featuring Jaguar's "What You Want" and Maxwell's "Let's Not Play The Game" are slated to be released as singles from the album, as is Lauryn Hill's duet with her late father-in-law, Bob Marley, "Turn Your Lights Down Low" (see "Lauryn Hill On Recording 'Duet' With Bob Marley").

The complete track list for "The Best Man -- Music From The Motion Picture" is as follows:

  • The Roots Featuring Jaguar - "What You Want"
  • Maxwell - "Let's Not Play The Game"
  • Beyonce & Marc Nelson - "After All Is Said And Done"
  • Eric Benet - "Poetry Girl"
  • LaTocha Scott - "Liar, Liar"
  • Faith Evans - "Best Man"
  • Kenny Lattimore - "Beautiful Girl"
  • Sporty Thievz - "Hit It Up"
  • Lauryn Hill and Bob Marley - "Turn Your Lights Down Low"
  • Me'Shell N'degeOcello

    - "Untitled"

  • Maxwell - "As My Girl"
  • Sygnature - "Wherever You Go"
  • Allure - "When The Shades Go Down"
  • Ginuwine, R.L., Tyrese and Case - "The Best Man I Can Be"

"The Best Man," a romantic comedy starring Taye Diggs, Nia Long, and Morris Chestnut, is the first feature from writer-director Malcolm D. Lee, and it was co-produced by his cousin, Spike Lee. The film is due to hit theaters on October 22, while the soundtrack should be in stores on October 12.

-- John Gill