Erick Sermon Taps Unreleased Eazy-E Track For Solo LP

EPMD's Erick Sermon plans to release a new solo album, his third, on May 16 under the pseudonym Erick O'Nassis, and he's managed to work in a few interesting guests into the project.

In addition to the two tracks that feature imprisoned Def Squad member Keith Murray (see "Keith Murray Releases New Album While In Prison"), Sermon also has a track that features deceased NWA rapper Eazy-E that was recorded prior to the Eazy's death in 1995.

Other guests include Slick Rick, Redman, Kelis, Too Short, Dave Hollister, Pete Moore, and new Def Squad artists Sy Scott and Khari.

Sermon, who has provided funky backing beats for the likes of EPMD, Redman and Method Man, did the majority of the tracks for the O'Nassis album in his Long Island, New York recording studio. Other producers include Redman and Sermon's fellow EPMD member DJ Scratch.

The first single from the forthcoming Erick O'Nassis album is a double

A-side, "Why Not," featuring Slick Rick, and "Focus," which features Xzibit and DJ Quik.

For more on EPMD's legacy, don't forget to check out the MTV Online feature:"EPMD: A Decade Of Business."