Def Leppard Returns With "Euphoria"

Def Leppard's new album "Euphoria" is scheduled to hit stores on June 8, and a preview will be available for download on the band's new Web site,, as of June 4.

"Euphoria" is the band's first release since 1996's "Slang." Today's Def Leppard features singer Joe Elliott, guitarist Phil Collen, drummer Rick Allen, and bassist Rick Savage, all members since the band's 1983 "Pyromania" heyday. Also filling Def Lep's ranks is former Whitenake guitarist Vivian Campbell, who replaced guitarist Steve Clark after his death in 1991.

The new album's sound is said to be close to "Pyromania" and the band's 1987 hit LP "Hysteria," and a number of the tracks were co-written by veteran producer Robert John "Mutt" Lange.

The first single is "Promises," and "Metal Edge" newswire's Gerri Miller reports that the band recently shot a video for the track with Wayne Isham, the director behind previous Def

Leppard hits including "Pour Some Sugar on Me," "Have You Ever," and "Two Steps Behind," as well as the videos for Ricky Martin's "Livin' La Vida Loca," 98 Degrees' "The Hardest Thing," and the Backstreet Boys' "I Want It That Way." The video reportedly mixes soundstage performances with sequences shot at the Observatory in L.A.'s Griffith Park.

Def Leppard will be appearing at a handful of shows over the course of the summer, starting with a performance at the Chippewa Valley Rock Fest in Cadott, Wisconsin on July 16, before the band's world tour officially gets underway in September.