Cracker Raids "Garage" For Best-Of Album

Cracker's David Lowery, fresh off his recent production duties on the new Counting Crows album, has now put the finishing touches on a Cracker compilation album, "Garage D'Or" and due out on March 14.

In addition to culling tracks from Cracker's four studio albums, 1992's "Cracker," 1993's "Kerosene Hat," 1996's "The Golden Age," and 1998's "Gentlemen's Blues," "Garage D'Or" includes three new songs, "Be My Love," "Heaven Knows I'm Lonely," and "The Eyes of Mary."

Virgin Records will also be releasing a limited edition version of "Garage D'Or," with a bonus disc of B-sides, live cuts, and other unreleased material. Cracker rarities expected to turn up on the extra disc include: early demos of "Steve's Hornpipe" and "China," "Sunday Train," an outtake from "Kerosene Hat," and "Hollywood Cemetery," an outtake from "Gentlemen's Blues."

Highlighting the bonus disc will be a cover of Bob Dylan's "You Ain't Going Nowhere" featuring The Counting Crows' Adam Duritz

and Joan Osborne. That track was recorded during Cracker's 1998 "Rolling Blunder Revue" tour of the West Coast.

Cracker will head out on the road in February to support "Garage D'Or," and have announced the following dates as the first leg of the tour:

  • 2/4 - San Juan Capistrano, CA @ Coach House
  • 2/5 - Phoenix, AZ @ Alice Cooperstown
  • 2/6 - Solana Beach, CA @ Belly Up Tavern
  • 2/8 - West Hollywood, CA @ House Of Blues
  • 2/9 - Santa Cruz, CA @ Catalyst
  • 2/10 - San Francisco, CA @ Slim's
  • 2/11 - San Francisco, CA @ Slim's
  • 2/12 - Petaluma, CA @ Mystic Theatre
  • 3/1 - Boulder, CO @ Fox Theatre
  • 3/2 - Vail, CO @ Garton's
  • 3/3 - Steamboat Springs, CO @ Inferno
  • 3/4 - Aspen, CO @ Double Diamond
  • 3/17 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
  • 3/18 - Philadelphia, PA @ Trocadero