Hailing from Colorado, Allegaeon fuse punishing death metal riffs with expansive, surprisingly non-death-obsessed lyrics to create their own style of thoughtful and pummeling heavy metal. Formed in 2008 by guitarists Ryan Glisan and Greg Burgess, bassist Corey Archuleta, and drummer Ezra Haynes, the band got off to a ripping start after their self-titled, four-song EP got them signed to Metal Blade just a year after forming. The band made their full-length debut in 2010 with Fragments of Form and Function, which gained them critical attention with its highly technical and melodic sound. Looking to evolve and challenge themselves compositionally, Allegaeon headed to Lambesis studios to begin work on new material with Daniel Castleman. The resulting album, Formshifter, was released on Metal Blade in 2012. ~ Gregory Heaney, Rovi