Frank Black, Bis, Devo Drawn In For Powerpuff LP

David Byrne, Frank Black, Devo, and The Apples In Stereo have heeded the call of "The Powerpuff Girls" and have contributed tracks to "Heroes & Villains," a new album of music inspired by the Cartoon Network series due out on July 18.

Others power-pitching in for "Heroes & Villains," which was produced by Devo's Mark Mothersbaugh and Bob Casale, include Shonen Knife, Cornelius, and Bis, the band responsible for penning "The Powerpuff Girls" original theme (see [article id="1425853"]"Bis Lends A Hand To 'The Powerpuff Girls'"[/article]).

The "Powerpuff" series' creator, Craig McCracken, also oversaw the "Heroes & Villains" project, and says that he's pleased at how the resulting tracks that ended up on the record all seem to fit together.

Each song on the album focuses on a different aspect of The Powerpuff Girls," McCracken wrote in a statement heralding the "Heroes & Villains" LP, "and together they tell a story. From Townsville

being in danger to the day finally being saved, what you hear throughout is a sonic Powerpuff adventure.

The track listing for "Heroes & Villains:

  • Devo - "Go Monkey Go"
  • Frank Black - "Pray For The Girls" -
  • The Apples In Stereo - "Signal In The Sky (Let's Go)"
  • Optiganally Yours - "Walk & Chew Gum"
  • Shonen Knife - "Buttercup (I'm A Super Girl)"
  • Komeda - "B.L.O.S.S.O.M."
  • Dressy Bessy - "Bubbles"
  • Bis - "Fight The Power"
  • The Sugarplastic - "Don't Look Down"
  • Cornelius - "The Fight"
  • David Byrne with Malu - "Buttercup, Blossom, & Bubbles Say"
  • Bis - "The Powerpuff Girls (End Theme)"
  • Marty & Elayne - "Love Makes The World Go Round" [hidden track]