Faith Hill, Tim McGraw, Dixie Chicks Lead Country Award Nominees

Academy of Country Music's awards show to feature performances by Dolly Parton, Reba McEntire.

NASHVILLETim McGraw, George Strait, Asleep at the Wheel, Faith Hill and Alan Jackson will grace the stage for the 35th annual Academy of Country Music Awards, to be held May 3 in Universal City, Calif.

Hosted by Dolly Parton, the awards also will feature performances by such newcomer nominees as Chad Brock, Brad Paisley, Julie Reeves, Jessica Andrews, Gary Allan and SHeDAISY.

"I feel like a winner already just being nominated by my peers alongside two country icons," said Brock, whose sophomore album, Yes!, is due May 2.

Brock is up against Allan and Paisley for best new male vocalist, and his collaboration with George Jones and Hank Williams Jr., "A Country Boy Can Survive (Y2K Version)," is nominated for Vocal Event of the Year.

Hill, McGraw and the Dixie Chicks lead the nominations with five each. Hill and husband McGraw go head to head in three categories, including Entertainer of the Year, Album of the Year and Song of the Year.

"Knowing there are people out there in the industry who believe in me that much means more than anything. I am honored to be in the top three and especially to be performing on the show," said Reeves, a nominee for Best New Female Vocalist.

Actor Billy Bob Thornton ("Sling Blade"), the Dixie Chicks, Trace Adkins, Mark Chesnutt, Patty Loveless, Pam Tillis, Mark Wills and Dwight Yoakam are among the award presenters.

Parton will perform "Traveling Prayer" from her critically acclaimed album The Grass Is Blue, which marked a return to her bluegrass roots. Other scheduled performers include Martina McBride, Toby Keith, Clint Black and Lisa Hartman Black, Reba McEntire, Jo Dee Messina, Sawyer Brown, Kenny Chesney, Hank Williams Jr., Collin Raye and Chely Wright.

The show will air live at 8 p.m. EDT on CBS from the Universal Amphitheater.

Latest News