You want your MTV, and Paramount+ has it.

Jerry Cantrell, Bootsy Collins On Star-Studded Gov't Mule LP

Jam-packed album also includes John Paul Jones, Les Claypool, John Entwistle, Jack Bruce.

When Gov't Mule bassist Allen Woody died of unknown causes in August, the music community provided abundant sympathy and assistance to his family and bandmates. First the Allman Brothers Band (which Woody was once a member of), the Black Crowes and Phil Lesh & Friends played a benefit concert with Gov't Mule. Then David Schools of Widespread Panic sat in with the Mule for a full tour.

Well, Woody must have been one heck of a great guy because the flood of support hasn't abated, it's only intensified. Gov't Mule still haven't replaced the bassist, but they've received musical help in the studio from a veritable who's who of players.

Parliament/Funkadelic's Bootsy Collins, Sly & the Family Stone's Larry Graham, Led Zeppelin's John Paul Jones, Primus' Les Claypool, the Who's John Entwistle, Yes' Chris Squire, the Grateful Dead's Lesh, Phish's Michael Gordon, King Crimson's Tony Levin and Cream's Jack Bruce are just some of the artists who have played bass on new Gov't Mule tracks.

So far, 19 of 25 songs have been recorded for the still-untitled disc, which is scheduled for release September 18.

The track listing so far, according to the band's publicist:

  • "Greasy Granny Gopher Gravy" (Claypool on bass, vocals)
  • "Lay of the Sunflower" (Lesh on bass, David Grisman on mandolin)
  • "What Is Hip" (Rocco Prestia on bass)
  • "Babylon Turnpike" (Weather Report's Alphonso Johnson on bass)
  • "Slow Happy Boys" (Jefferson Airplane's Jack Casady on bass, Chuck Leavell on organ)
  • "Sundance" (Squire on bass)
  • "Sco Mule" (John Scofield on guitar, Bernie Worrell on organ)
  • "Which Way Do We Run" (Schools on bass)
  • "On the Banks of the Deep End" (Gordon on bass)
  • "Worried Down With the Blues" (Col. Bruce Hampton & the Aquarium Rescue Unit's Oteil Burbridge on bass; Allman Brothers Band's Derek Trucks on guitar; Gregg Allman on organ, vocals)
  • "World of Confusion" (Levin on bass, Captain Beefheart's Gary Lucas on guitar)
  • "Fool's Gold" (Bruce on bass, vocals; Worrell on organ)
  • "Catfish Blues" (Jimi Hendrix Band of Gypsys' Billy Cox on bass)
  • "Same Price" (Entwistle on bass)
  • "Maybe I'm a Leo" (Deep Purple's Roger Glover on bass)
  • "Tear Me Down" (Collins on bass, Worrell on keyboards)
  • "Effigy" (the Minutemen's Mike Watt on bass, Alice in Chains' Jerry Cantrell on vocals)
  • "Soulshine" (Willy Weeks on bass, Leavell on keyboards)
  • "Time to Confess" (the Meters' George Porter Jr. on bass, the Neville Brothers' Art Neville on organ)