Yeah Yeah Yeahs Bite Back With 'Mosquito'

The band announces a brand-new album, out April 16, featuring collaborations with James Murphy and Dr. Octagon.

The Yeah Yeah Yeahs are back, and they're out for blood.

On April 16, they'll return with their [article id="1699576"]much-anticipated new album[/article], the (very) appropriately titled Mosquito. Produced by TV on the Radio's Dave Sitek and Nick Launay -- both of whom worked with the YYYs on their last album, 2009's It's Blitz! -- the new disc also features one song produced by former LCD Soundsystem mastermind James Murphy and a collaboration with none other than Dr. Octagon, aka Kool Keith.

The totally tripped-out album cover comes courtesy of filmmaker and animator Beomsik Shimbe Shim, and that feeling apparently extends to the music itself, which YYYs frontwoman Karen O. says definitely goes to heady extremes.

"We took a more playful, lo-fi approach to songwriting. Much of the music was demoed in our little basement studio in Manhattan with drum machines, a s----y sample keyboard and tons of delay," she said in a press release. "I think this record has more moodier and tripped-out songs than you've ever heard from us. You might catch some roots reggae and minimalist psychedelia influences in there."

Maybe! The band also released a teaser clip for the album which definitely sounds like roots reggae or something. Mosquito is also available for pre-order now through the Yeah Yeah Yeahs' official site, and can be purchased in a "fan deluxe" bundle that comes with a 12" x 12" autographed lithograph and the album on vinyl.

"This is a feel good, food for the soul, chicken soup for the ears Yeah Yeah Yeahs record," O. said. "Which doesn't mean easy listening. It means kind of raw, kind of chaotic, kind of dreamy ... very us."

Are you excited for new Yeah Yeah Yeahs? Let us know in the comments below!