Howard Jones, Sheila E., Greg Lake Join Ringo's All-Starr Band

Ex-Supertramp singer Roger Hodgson, Mott the Hoople frontman Ian Hunter also joining ex-Beatle's summer tour.

Ringo Starr, the hardest-working ex-Beatle in show business, will hit the road this summer with a brand new lineup of his All-Starr Band.

Previous incarnations of the All-Starr Band, which has toured sporadically since 1989, have skewed towards Starr's '60s peers. This edition strikes an intriguing, some might say bizarre, balance between veterans of the classic rock era and early-'80s pop.

Greg Lake of Emerson, Lake & Palmer and King Crimson will play bass, alongside ex-Supertramp singer Roger Hodgson and Mott the Hoople frontman Ian Hunter, both on guitars. Onetime Prince protégé Sheila E. will play percussion, and synth-pop standard bearer Howard Jones will man the keyboards, according to a tour spokesperson.

In the offing for the set list are the Beatles tunes "Octopus's Garden" and "Don't Pass Me By," which Starr has never performed on previous All-Starr tours. ELP's "Lucky Man"; Supertramp's "Breakfast in America," "Goodbye Stranger" and "Logical Song"; Mott the Hoople's "All the Young Dudes" (RealAudio excerpt); Hunter's "Cleveland Rocks"; Jones' "Things Can Only Get Better" and "No One Is to Blame"; and Sheila E.'s "The Glamorous Life" will be included in the show as well.

The tour will commence in Toronto on July 26 and will include stops at New York's Jones Beach on August 3 and at venues yet to be determined in Minneapolis on August 23 and Las Vegas on September 1. More dates will be announced shortly, as will the release date of a box set and DVD devoted to each of the All-Starr bands, according to the spokesperson.

Latest News