Weezer, Ryan Adams, Lifehouse On 'Smallville' Soundtrack

The Talon Mix also includes Flaming Lips, Five for Fighting, Remy Zero.

Look! Up in the sky. It's a bird, it's a plane ... it's the soundtrack to "Smallville."

Weezer, Ryan Adams, Lifehouse and the Flaming Lips are among the artists on Smallville Soundtrack: The Talon Mix, an audio companion to the hit WB television series, due February 25. All the music on the 12-track LP -- whose title references the coffeehouse where a young Clark Kent, Lana Lang and the gang hang out -- either has been or soon will be featured on the show, according to an Elektra Records spokesperson.

The Flaming Lips donate "Fight Test," from their Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots (2002), while Weezer contribute "Island in the Sun," from Weezer (2001). Five for Fighting's "Superman (It's Not Easy)" offers a sympathetic view of our hero, and Remy Zero appropriately kick things off with "Save Me," the program's theme song.

The CD allows fans to access a virtual Smallville online and a 3D tour of the Man of Steel's hometown, including a visit to the Luthor mansion, the Kent farm and the Talon. The sold-out premiere issue of DC Comics' "Smallville" and previews of "Smallville" novels, to be published by Little, Brown and Co., are also available.

Smallville Soundtrack: The Talon Mix raises the bar for corporate synergy. The album's first single is the burgeoning radio hit "Inside Out" by VonRay, whose self-titled debut album is due April 22 on Elektra Records. Elektra and the WB television network are subsidiaries of media powerhouse AOL/Time Warner. Additionally, Elektra artist Steadman will appear in the February 18 episode, performing at a benefit event where the album is on sale. Additionally, America Online will offer a sneak peek at the record, and a coupon to try the magazine Teen People (another AOL/Time Warner holding, along with DC Comics and Little, Brown and Co.) is included in the album's packaging.

In other "Smallville" news, actor Christopher Reeve, who portrayed the son of Jor-El in four films, will make a guest appearance on the show February 25. Reeves will play a scientist who helps Kent understand some of his past.

Smallville Soundtrack: The Talon Mix track listing, according to Elektra:

  • Remy Zero - "Save Me"
  • VonRay - "Inside Out"
  • Weezer- "Island in the Sun"
  • Five for Fighting - "Superman (It's Not Easy)"
  • Ryan Adams - "Nuclear"
  • Phantom Planet - "Lonely Day"
  • The Flaming Lips - "Fight Test"
  • Sixpence None the Richer - "Don't Dream It's Over"
  • Steadman - "Wave Goodbye"
  • AM Radio - "I Just Wanna Be Loved"
  • Lifehouse - "Everything"
  • Eva Cassidy - "Time After Time"