Eminem, New Shady Artists Join 50 Cent, Lloyd Banks On 'The Re-Up'

Stat Quo, Ca$his and Bobby Creekwater among up-and-coming MCs on LP due December 5.

What began as a raw street mixtape intended to introduce some new Shady Records artists has turned into a full-fledged album release called Eminem Presents: The Re-Up.

"What happened is that the material was so good and the tracks were getting produced like a regular album," Eminem said in a statement about the compilation he executive produced, which is slated for release December 5. "Instead of putting it out there rough and unfinished, I thought we should add some other new tracks, make it a real album and put it in the record stores to give these new artists a real boost."

The new Shady artists he's introducing include Stat Quo, Ca$his and Bobby Creekwater, who rhyme alongside their label boss and his D12 crew, as well as 50 Cent, Lloyd Banks, Obie Trice and Akon. Eminem decided to take the project aboveground when information -- which he said was incorrect -- began circulating about what was going to be on it.

Em produced the majority of the songs on the set, with the Alchemist (Mobb Deep, Snoop Dogg, Nas) pitching in on a few tracks and compiling the whole thing into mixtape shape (see "Mixtape Monday: Eminem Re-Up's With Whoo Kid; Lloyd Banks Brings The Gang Green"). Alchemist hooked up with the Shady team when he served as DJ for Em on last year's Anger Management 3 tour following the departure of former DJ Green Lantern (see [article id="1501407"]"DJ Green Lantern Explains Eminem Split"[/article]).

The first single and video from the Re-Up set is for "You Don't Know," featuring Em, 50 Cent, Ca$his and Lloyd Banks. With the exception of Stat Quo's "Billion Bucks" and Obie Trice's "Cry Now" remix, which appeared on recent mixtapes, all the other tracks on the Re-Up are previously unreleased.

Atlanta's Stat Quo was invited into the Shady family after Em and Dr. Dre heard him on an underground Atlanta mixtape, while the ATL's Creekwater got his deal after Em heard his work on some demos and studio sessions with Alchemist, according to the press release. Chicago native Ca$his, who moved to Orange County, California, as a kid, came to Em's attention thanks to his work with West Coast underground group the Renegadez.

The Re-Up track list includes "No Apologies" (Eminem), "Talkin' All That" (Ca$his), "City of Gold" (Bobby Creekwater) "Murder" (D12's Bizarre and Kuniva) and the "Smack That" remix with Akon.

In addition to clearing up rumors about the Re-Up, Em also said that, contrary to speculation, the mixtape is not a tribute to late D12 member Proof, the rapper's close friend who was killed earlier this year during an altercation outside a Detroit bar (see [article id="1535625"]"Eminem Sells Memorial T-Shirts, Poster To Raise Money For Proof's Kids"[/article]).

"The D12 album and those unreleased songs with Proof are coming," said Eminem. "But The Re-Up is about these new artists and these new songs. It isn't fair to them or to the memory of Proof to mix them up."