Kelly Clarkson, Lindsay Lohan Provide Entries To Princess Diaries 2 LP

Avril Lavigne, Raven, Norah Jones also on soundtrack.

Kelly Clarkson and Lindsay Lohan lead the crop of artists appearing on the soundtrack to "The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement," due August 10.

Clarkson's "Breakaway," co-written by Avril Lavigne and producer Matthew Gerrard, serves as the first single, expected to surface at radio July 20, according to a Buena Vista Records spokesperson. Gerrard had previously written songs for Nick Carter and Hilary Duff, including Duff's hit single "Why Not" from the soundtrack to "The Lizzie McGuire Movie." A video for "Breakaway" is expected to be shot July 10-11 by director Dave Meyers (Jay-Z, Missy Elliott).

Lohan's contribution, "I Decide," was penned by songwriting ace Diane Warren, whose credits include songs for Aerosmith, Mary J. Blige and Celine Dion. The tune is expected to appear on the singer/actress' debut album, on which she also had help from "American Idol" judge Randy Jackson (see [article id="1486488"]"Lindsay Bizkit? Lohan Solo Album Combines 'Hip-Hop And Rock' "[/article]).

Besides writing Clarkson's tune, Lavigne lends her "I Always Get What I Want," which appears as a bonus track on the import version of her latest album, Under My Skin. Smash Mouth singer Steve Harwell contributes a solo tune, "Fun in the Sun," while Norah Jones and jazz guitarist Adam Levy cover Elvis Presley's "Love Me Tender," which was featured on Levy's Get Your Glow On, released last year.

"The Princess Diaries 2" soundtrack also marks the musical return of Julie Andrews, one of the film's stars. The veteran actress' singing career had been in jeopardy after a 1997 operation to remove nodes from her vocal cords. She appears along with her co-star Anne Hathaway and Raven, star of the Disney Channel program "That's So Raven," on "Your Crowning Glory." A solo song by Raven, "This Is My Time," closes the film and is also featured on the soundtrack.

"The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement," the sequel to the 2001 original, opens in theaters August 11.

Track list for "The Princess Diaries 2: Royal Engagement" soundtrack (not in order), according to Buena Vista Records:

  • Kelly Clarkson - "Breakaway"
  • Renee Olstead - "A Love That Will Last"
  • Jonny Blu - "Miracles Happen"
  • Christy Carlson Romano - "Let's Bounce"
  • Pink - "Trouble"
  • Julie Andrews, Raven and Anne Hathaway - "Your Crowning Glory"
  • Norah Jones and Adam Levy - "Love Me Tender"
  • Lindsay Lohan - "I Decide"
  • Raven - "This Is My Time"
  • Steve Harwell - "Fun in the Sun"
  • Jesse McCartney - "Because You Live"
  • Avril Lavigne - "I Always Get What I Want"
  • Wilson Phillips - "Dance Dance Dance"
  • Rachel Stevens - "Fools"
  • Latest News