U2 Make History With Largest Album Release Ever

You can get it, for free, right now.

Queen Bey better watch her back. U2 apparently made history today during Apple's live event, releasing their first record in five years, Songs Of Innocence, for free via iTunes -- to everyone with an account across 119 countries. Yup, that's half a billion people who have access to the record right now. Whoa.

"We put everything we have into this -- it's our most personal record," Bono said on stage at the event, where the iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus were revealed, as well as the Apple Watch. The guys also busted out a new track titled "The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone)," after which they shouted out the late singer of the iconic New York punk band the Ramones, much to the band's Twitter account's delight. An ad for the release that aired at the event also featured footage of The Ramones performing.

"We wanted to make a very personal album," Bono told Rolling Stone before the event. "Let's try to figure out why we wanted to be in a band, the relationships around the band, our friendships, our lovers, our family. The whole album is first journeys — first journeys geographically, spiritually, sexually. And that's hard. But we went there."

U2 worked on the record for two years with Danger Mouse, as well as producers Paul Epworth and Ryan Tedder and long-time collaborator Flood.

Currently, iTunes customers can yoink the album by visiting their music libraries, as well as iTunes Radio and Beats Music. The record will be available exclusively via Apple until its official release on October 13.

The iTunes version features the songs:

"The Miracle (of Joey Ramone)"

"Every Breaking Wave"

"California (There Is No End To Love)"

"Song For Someone"

"Iris (Hold Me Close)"


"Raised By Wolves"

"Cedarwood Road"

"Sleep Like A Baby Tonight"

"This Is Where You Can Reach Me Now"

"The Troubles"

The physical copy will come with a 24-page booklet, as well as a deluxe, gatefold double album version with an acoustic session of songs from the album and four additional tracks: "Lucifer's Hands," "The Crystal Ballroom," "The Troubles (Alternative version)" and "Sleep Like a Baby Tonight (Alternative Perspective Mix by Tchad Blake)."