Melissa McCarthy Will Be The First Woman To Win The Comedic Genius Award

And it's well-deserved

In any conversation about funny women in Hollywood, the name Melissa McCarthy must come up. Whether she's stealing a horde of puppies in Bridesmaids, hurling a book at a dude's face in The Heat, or encouraging Girl Scout wannabes to fight in a turf war in The Boss, McCarthy's had us in stitches since day one.

Now, on the eve of the 2016 MTV Movie Awards, we're proud to announce the Oscar-nominated actress will receive the Comedic Genius Award at the show, airing Sunday, April 10 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on MTV. McCarthy will be the third recipient — and first female — to win, with Will Ferrell winning in 2013 and Kevin Hart in 2015.

Like so many comedians before her, McCarthy began her career at the Groundlings Theatre, and went on to play Sookie St. James on Gilmore Girls. But it wasn't until she starred in Bridesmaids and Mike & Molly that the industry really began to take notice of McCarthy's comedic brilliance.

Just the other day, McCarthy totally owned Jimmy Fallon with her lip sync rendition of "Colors of the Wind" from Pocahontas.


It's completely appropriate her newest movie is titled The Boss, because McCarthy is, without a doubt, a straight-up boss. Besides acting up a storm, McCarthy also directed three episodes of Mike & Molly and cowrote the screenplays for both Tammy and The Boss with her talented husband, Ben Falcone.

"Honoring Melissa McCarthy with ‘MTV’s Comedic Genius Award’ is exciting on so many levels, it’s the first time this award is going to a woman which is fantastic," said Casey Patterson, an executive producer for the Movie Awards, in a press release. "We love Melissa for her performances but she also writes, produces and directs comedy, so this award is incredibly well deserved. The most exciting thing about Melissa is how brave she is, you don’t want to miss her moment in the show."

The 2016 MTV Movie Awards will air on Sunday, April 10 at 8 p.m. ET/PT, hosted by Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson and Kevin Hart. See the full list of nominees right here.

Latest News