Selena Gomez Breaks Down Into Tears Over Justin Bieber In 'Heart Wants What It Wants' Video

This is Selena at her most vulnerable state.

Selena Gomez just tore her heart open and left it for us to fix. On Thursday (November 6), the singer dropped the video for "Heart Wants What It Wants," the lead single off her greatest hits album. It's the most vulnerable we've ever heard Selena, who tries to justify her volatile relationship with Justin Bieber.

Sure, Gomez never names her on-again-off-again boyfriend, but the lyrics clearly lay out an inescapable four-year relationship -- how all the signs were telling her to leave, but, well, love is love. And in the dramatic opening monologue, Selena's voice is shaky as she breaks down in tears over someone who's messing with her head.

"I know his heart, and I know what he wouldn't do to hurt me, but I didn't realize feeling so confident, feeling so great about myself and then it just be completely shattered by one thing -- by something so stupid," she confesses at the beginning of the Dawn Shadforth-directed video. "But then you make me feel crazy because you make me feel like it's my fault. I was in pain."

The video, shot in black-and-white like the filters on Jelena's famous selfies, then plays out all the Bieber scenes we've seen before.

The cuddle sessions:

Screen Shot 2014-11-06 at 7.11.22 AM

And the bar scenes:

Screen Shot 2014-11-06 at 7.15.51 AM

The guy doesn't exactly look like Bieber, but the shirtlessness, forehead shrugging and model moves make it obvious.

The more she sings, the more the lyrics make you cry -- especially if you've ever wanted to let go but couldn't because, well, the heart wants what it wants. You know what it's like to be in love, but you also know what's bad for you.

"And every second's like torture/ heroin drip no more so/ findin' a way to let go/ baby, baby, no, I can't escape," she sings on the track. "The bed's gettin' cold but you're not here/ The future that we hold is so unclear."

Selena also sings to her fans and their well-intended advice, and how this love has made her deaf to it. Back in July, she first wrote this sentiment on Instagram, saying, "You’re always listened to,” on one pic, continuing on another, “And usually always right.” That had a lot of Selenators thinking she was going to rid herself of the guy who was giving her trouble -- but we saw how that played out, with four more months of are-they-or-aren't-they speculation.

"Save your advice but I don't hear/ You might be right, but I don't care," Selena admits. "There's a million reasons why I should give you up/ But the heart wants what it wants."

This is the most real, honest and self-aware we've ever seen Selena, and we're hoping it's just the beginning of her healing.

Related: This Is Why Selena Gomez Is More Than Her Relationship.

Here's the track list for Gomez's For You greatest hits collection, available for pre-order now:

1. "Heart Wants What It Wants"

2. "Come & Get It"

3. "Love You Like a Love Song"

4. "Tell Me Something I Don’t Know"

5. "Who Says"

6. "My Dilemma 2.0" (New version of “My Dilemma”)

7. "Round & Round"

8. "Forget Forever" (Boy Lightning Remix)

9. "Slow Down"

10. "A Year Without Rain"

11. "Naturally"

12. "Mas" (More – Spanish Version)

13. "Bidi Bidi Bom Bom"

14. "Falling Down"

15. "Do It"

Latest News