New Kids On The Block 'Returned To Our Roots' For New Album

'10' drops on April 2, ahead of the group's Package Tour with 98 Degrees and Boyz II Men.

Step by step, the New Kids on the Block are inching closer to the release of their brand-new studio album, 10.

Fans have already gotten a taste of what the April 2 release will sound like, thanks to its lead throwback single, [article id="1700791"]"Remix (I Like the)."[/article] And while it's not completely indicative of 10's groove from beginning to end, it certainly does give the right idea of what the guys have in mind.

"Sonically, ['Remix' is] sort of out there; it's more a fun song," Donnie Wahlberg told MTV News. "It's a little more retro [and] it kicks the doors open. We haven't put an album out in five years, so we wanted to come back with something that had a lot of energy and spirit and while it is sort of a unique sound to the album, what's not unique about it and what's consistent throughout the whole album is our passion and commitment to the song."

That means fans of the group's ear-catching harmonies just might fall in love with 10. "We really, really worked hard, every guy in the group vocally, and sort of returned to our roots," Wahlberg continued. "We're spilling our guts with our singing. We really went back to our vocal roots. Everybody sang and everybody's a part of it. It's more of a traditional vocal group record."

On Wednesday, the guys dropped the 11-song track list for the release. In addition to giving fans all new music in the coming months, NKOTB are also prepping to hit the road this summer on the [article id="1701106"]Package Tour[/article], which includes [article id="1700587"]tourmates 98 Degrees and Boyz II Men[/article].

But on this tour, don't expect too much band crossover like when the guys toured with the Backstreet Boys.

"Boyz II Men have not done an arena tour," Wahlberg said. "98 Degrees is doing their first show together in 12 years, so it's a big deal. We're doing our first tour with just us [without Backstreet Boys] in three years, so we are going to put on our show, and they are going to put on theirs."

The full tracklist for NKOTB's 10 standard issue is:

»"We Own Tonight"

»"Remix (I Like The)"

»"Take My Breath Away"

»"Wasted On You"

»"Fighting Gravity"

»"Miss You More"

»"The Whisper"

»"Jealous (Blue)"


»"Back To Life"

»"Now Or Never Survive You"

Latest News