Spice Girls, Lenny Kravitz, Dru Hill Get Musical With Elton John

The newest musical from Disney may not be heading to the Great White Way anytime soon, but the soundtrack to the show -- composed by Elton John and Tim Rice and featuring the vocal talents of the Spice Girls, Lenny Kravitz and Shania Twain -- is due in stores in March.

Entitled "Elton John and Tim Rice's 'Aida,'" the album incorporates songs composed by John and Rice that were culled from the Disney production of "Elaborate Lives: The Legend of Aida.

John and Rice previously worked together on the Tony-winning Broadway production of "The Lion King," and Rice is famous for his collaborations with Andrew Lloyd Webber on such '70s musicals as "Evita" and "Jesus Christ Superstar.

Other performers who have participated in the "Aida" soundtrack project include Dru Hill, Janet Jackson, Boys II Men, Sting, Kelly Price and Tina Turner, while the first single from the album, a duet between Elton John and LeAnn Rimes called "Written in the Stars," arrived on radio last month.

Based upon the legends that spawned Verdi's 1871 opera, "Aida," Disney's new musical tells the story of an Egyptian soldier caught in a love triangle between an Egyptian princess and a Nubian slave.

Elaborate Lives" had its off-Broadway premiere in Atlanta last September, and ran for seven weeks before producers decided to move the show to Chicago for some additional tweaking. Disney is still considering bringing "Elaborate Lives" to Broadway for a possible opening at some point in 1999.

Elton John and Tim Rice's 'Aida'" is due out on March 23, and the track and artist listing for the album is:

  • "Another Pyramid" - Sting
  • "Written in the Stars" - Elton John and LeAnn Rimes
  • "Easy as Life" - Tina Turner
  • "My Strongest Suit" - Spice Girls
  • "I Know the Truth" - Elton John and Janet Jackson
  • "Not Me" - Boyz II Men
  • "How I Know You" - James Taylor
  • "A Step Too Far" - Elton John, Heather Headley and Sherie Scott
  • "Amneris' Letter" -

Shania Twain

  • "Like Father Like Son" - Lenny Kravitz
  • "The Messenger" - "Elton John and Lulu
  • "Enchantment Passing Through" - Dru Hill
  • "The Gods Love Nubia" - Kelly Price
  • Latest News