Exclusive: Listen To Joss Whedon's New Song From 'In Your Eyes'

The track from Whedon's indie release also includes artists Noah Maffit and Jessica Freedman.

Joss Whedon isn't exactly keeping a low profile. He's currently directing "Avengers: Age of Ultron," the sequel to one of the biggest movies of all time, producing "Marvel's Agents Of S.H.I.E.L.D." -- and in his off-hours, writing the independently released "In Your Eyes," via his own production company Bellweather Pictures.

But Whedon didn't just write "In Your Eyes," he also provided a song for the soundtrack. The song, "Crumblin'" is performed by Noah Maffit and Jessica Freedman, and marks the first time Whedon has penned music for the screen since "Much Ado About Nothing" in 2012.

For those who know Whedon better from his time behind the camera than his time behind the piano, the multi-talented creator has a long history with the musical arts. After (surprisingly) writing a song for the direct-to-DVD "The Lion King 2," he composed the songs for the legendary musical episode of "Buffy the Vampire Slayer," titled "Once More With Feeling." A critical and fan-friendly hit, it has spawned multiple sing-alongs and screenings over the past decade.

He then wrote the iconic title track for his own show, "Firefly," in 2002, followed by the highly successful web series "Dr. Horrible's Sing-Along Blog" in 2008, which included more than eight new songs.

Other than the musical commentary track for "Dr. Horrible," Whedon hasn't had a multitudinous musical output as of late, but hopefully this "In Your Eyes" track will change his tune.

The soundtrack for the movie will hit digitally on June 10, and CD on July 8 from Lakeshore Records, but you can exclusively listen to the Whedon written track right here, right now. Check below for a full track listing, which also includes songs by Iron & Wine, and Santigold:

Track Listing

01. Go Get Another Dream - Andrew Johnson

02. Temptation - Ray Beadle

03. Resurrection Fern - Iron & Wine

04. The Riot's Gone – Santigold

05. Crumblin' - Noah Maffit, Jessica Freedman, Written by Joss Whedon

06. Trouble I'm In - Twinbed

07. Glad I Found You - Eddie Ray

08. In The Dark - Opus Orange

09. Fired Up - Matt Anderson

10. Stand In The Water - Wildlife

11. The Break Up - Tony Morales

Bellwether Pictures presents "In Your Eyes," currently available exclusively at inyoureyesmovie.com powered by Vimeo. Lakeshore Records presents the "In Your Eyes – Original Motion Picture Soundtrack," available digitally June 10th and on CD July 8, 2014.

Latest News