AC/DC Summon Bon Scott At Seance, In Box Set

November 5 [14:00 EDT] -- AC/DC marked Halloween, and the impending arrival of their "Bonfire" box set, with a live radio broadcast, in which a paranormal researcher tried to channel the band's late frontman Bon Scott.

As we first reported in September, "Bonfire" is a collection of live tracks and rare recordings from the days when Scott fronted the group before choking to death on his own vomit after a drinking binge in 1980.

Neither the otherworldy expert nor the box set could summon Scott, or his spirit, to the seance, leaving guitarist Angus Young and singer Brian Johnson to speculate as to Scott's afterlife whereabouts.

"I think we're talking about if Bon was there, he'd be too busy shaggin' something," Johnson guessed. "He'd have all the good lookin' women up there. He wouldn't be bothered coming down here." [700k QuickTime]


two current AC/DC members also discussed the cuts they selected for the box set, as Young reflected, "I know there was a track there from the first night, Cliff, I think the bass player, played with us in a old club in Sidney, and that was recorded in '77 just before we came to America and that was all sort of fun then. [article id="1438011"]I remember when we heard that, the song 'She's Got Balls' which at the time, Bon wrote about his wife when she said, 'You never write a song about me' and he wrote the song and then she turned around and said, 'That's it, I'm leaving.'" [1.2MB QuickTime][/article]

AC/DC plans to start work on a new studio album next year. In the meantime, here's what you'll find on "Bonfire":

Live from the Atlantic Studios:

  • Live Wire
  • Problem Child
  • High Voltage
  • Hell Ain¹t A Bad Place To Be
  • Dog Eat Dog
  • The Jack
  • Whole Lotta Rosie
  • Rocker


  • Dirty Eyes
  • Touch

Too Much

  • If You Want Blood You Got It
  • Back Seat Confidential
  • Get It Hot
  • She's Got Balls
  • School Days
  • It's A Long Way To The Top If You Want To Rock 'N' Roll
  • Ride On
  • Let There Be Rock - The Movie [two discs live in Paris]:

    • Live Wire
    • Shot Down In Flames
    • Hell Ain't A Bad Place To Be
    • Sin City
    • Walk All Over You
    • Bad Boy Boogie
    • The Jack
    • Highway To Hell
    • Girls Got Rhythm
    • High Voltage
    • Whole Lotta Rosie
    • Rocker
    • T.N.T.
    • Let There Be Rock

    Back In Black:

    • Hells Bells
    • Shoot To Thrill
    • What Do You Do For Money Honey
    • Given The Dog A Bone
    • Let Me Put My Love Into You
    • Back In Black
    • You Shook Me All Night Long
    • Have A Drink On Me
    • Shake A Leg
    • Rock And Roll Ain't Noise Pollution

    Latest News