Phish Wrap New Album In Four Days, Plan February Tour

Jam band's Round Room due December 10.

It didn't take long for Phish to get back in their groove.

After taking a two-year hiatus, the jam band reunited in October to rehearse for a few New Year's shows (see [article id="1457024"]"Phish End Hiatus, Schedule Winter Dates"[/article]). Four days later they had a finished album.

Due December 10, Round Room captures a raw energy and loose improvisational spirit, a source close to the band said. With producer Bryce Goggin (Pavement) behind the boards, the 70 minutes of music also possess a bit of studio gloss.

Round Room is the follow-up to 2000's Farmhouse, which debuted at #12 on the Billboard 200 albums chart. Phish temporarily separated soon after (see [article id="1433163"]"After 17 Years, Phish Take A Break"[/article]), but have released several live albums since, including four on Tuesday from past Halloween performances. A DVD, "Live in Vegas," is due November 12.

During the hiatus, singer/guitarist Trey Anastasio logged a solo album and a record with Oysterhead, his all-star side project with former Primus bassist Les Claypool and former Police drummer Stewart Copeland (see [article id="1450596"]"Oysterhead Channel Zeppelin For Toronto's Bead-Wearing Phish Fans"[/article]).

Phish bassist Mike Gordon released an album with guitar vet Leo Kottke; drummer John Fishman recorded and toured with Pork Tornado; and keyboardist Page McConnell recorded with Vida Blue.

Before Phish begin rehearsing again, Anastasio has four dates left on a solo tour (see [article id="1457205"]"Trey Anastasio Touring Solo Again Before Phish Reunion"[/article]) and Pork Tornado play in Portland, Oregon, on Thursday.

After their four dates at the beginning of the year in New York and Hampton, Virginia, Phish will hit the road for a full tour in February. Dates have not been announced.

Round Room track list, according to Elektra Records:

  • "Pebbles and Marbles"
  • "Anything but Me"
  • "Round Room"
  • "Mexican Cousin"
  • "Friday"
  • "Seven Below"
  • "Mock Song"
  • "46 Days"
  • "All of These Dreams"
  • "Walls of the Cave"
  • "Thunderhead"
  • "Waves"
  • Latest News