McLachlan, Our Lady Peace Major Juno Winners

The Canadian Juno Awards, as expected, honored Sarah McLachlan and Our Lady Peace Sunday night in Vancouver.

McLachlan, nominated for four awards, walked away with all four trophies, Female Vocalist, Single ("Building A Mystery"), Songwriter (with Pierre Marchand), and Album of the Year ("Surfacing"). Our Lady Peace won for Group of the Year and the Rock Album of the Year ("Clumsy").

McLachlan told the crowd that "contrary to popular belief," she was glad to be there, responding to press reports that her country's national honors meant little in her book after she picked up two American Grammys in March. She also expressed a desire to make the Vocalist categories non-genre specific. Backstage in the press room, she gratefully acknowledged that her all-female Lilith Fair was largely responsible for her "media darling" status and her current slate of accolades.

Our Lady Peace had been scheduled to perform live on the broadcast, but had to cancel when singer Raine

Maida ended up in the hospital with back problems. Singer/songwriter Ron Sexsmith performed solo instead. The event was staged in front of 10,000 people at GM Place in Vancouver.

Other winners picking up trophies included bran van 3000 for best Alternative album (presented by Olympic snowboard gold medalist Ross Rebegliati), Holly McNarland for New Solo Artist and Delerium for the best dance record. The event was not without some controversy, however, when the rap group Rascalz refused to accept their Juno for the best rap recording because the category wasn't included in the prime time broadcast.

This feels like a token gesture in recognizing urban music," said Rascalz bandmember Misfit. "Given the importance of our music, we deserve better.

Producer David Foster, born and raised in Victoria, B.C., was honored with a Hall of Fame award, presented by his mentor, Quincy Jones for his work with Celine Dion, Whitney Houston and countless others.

The awards

show, in Vancouver for the second time in its 27-year history, was hosted by B.C.-born Jason Priestly, the star of TV's "Beverly Hills 90210.

For a complete list of winners, check out