Lit, Smash Mouth Added Alongside Beck, Beasties, Snoop, Pearl Jam On "MOM III"

The lineup for the latest all-star "Music for Our Mother Ocean" album has been finalized with Smash Mouth, Lit, and a new Snoop Dogg collaboration with members of Rage Against The Machine and the Gap Band coming on as the latest additions.

As we reported in May, "MOM III: Music for Our Mother Ocean," also features unreleased tracks by Pearl Jam, Beck, the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Everclear, and the Butthole Surfers, among others (see [article id="1425438"]"Chili Peppers Give It Away Online; Join Beasties, Others On MOM Benefit"[/article]).

The album, due out on August 10, is the third to benefit The Surfrider Foundation, a non-profit organization dedicated to protecting the coastal environment. Organizer Pierce Flynn told MTV News, "A lot of the acts contacted us this time around, and most of them this time have given us new or unreleased songs.

According to Flynn, Snoop Dogg's "Snoop's Bounce," is a rock and rap track that features Tom Morello, Sim T, and

Brad Wilk from Rage Against The Machine as well as backup vocals from the Gap Band. Snoop had originally planned on covering "Rockaway Beach" by the Ramones, but later opted to switch to an original.

Beck's "Electric Music & the Summer People" was previously only issued in Japan as a radio promotion.

The Red Hot Chili Peppers offered up "How Strong," an extra from their recent "Californication" sessions.

Everclear's version of the old Ventures instrumental, "Walk, Don't Run," was a b-side that had only been made available to college radio.

Butthole Surfers cut a version of the Lovin' Spoonful's "Summer in the City" two months ago especially for MOM III. BHS's Gibby Hayes and Paul Leary also provided a remix for Perry Farrell's contribution, Jane's Addiction's "Ocean Size." (Farrell, one of the project's most avid supporters, even sent a video out to his fellow performers urging them to participate).

According to Flynn, Sir Paul McCartney himself called

Surfrider and offered to donate "Wild Life," a track from the self-titled album by McCartney and his band Wings. (McCartney's son James is a surfer, which helped pique his interest.)

Ben Harper has provided the previously unreleased "Wicked Man," while Lisa Loeb offered up a new song called "Summer." In the same vein, Allison Moorer recorded the Beatles classic "Here Comes the Sun" for the project in Nashville.

Brian Setzer teamed up with Beach Boy Brian Wilson to re-record the Beach Boys "Little Deuce Coupe" for MOM, while Surfrider member Jimmy Buffett, one of the latest to come on board, recorded a live version of the Frankie Ford '60s hit "Sea Cruise."

Another veteran, James Taylor, donated the song "Gaia" which appears on his latest album. The CD also features three artists from the Surfdog roster, Gary Hoey, Jkay (Jeremy Kay), and Sprung Monkey.

The album's closer is Chris Isaak's "Winter Waves," a song that Isaak, an avid surfer, wrote specifically for "MOM


"MOM I" and "MOM II" raised over $500,000 for the Surfrider Foundation, according to Flynn. "MOM III" will be released August 10 on Surfdog/Hollywood Records.