Outkast, Beyonce, R. Kelly Nominated For NAACP Image Awards

Luther Vandross, Ruben Studdard, Alicia Keys also among nominees.

Although Outkast are up for six NAACP Image Awards this year, they can't win them all. It's not an issue of probability, it's a matter of possibility.

The group has received multiple nods in two different categories; "Hey Ya!" and "The Way You Move" are both up for Outstanding Song and Outstanding Music Video. The Atlanta duo have also been nominated for Outstanding Album for Speakerboxxx/ The Love Below and Outstanding Duo or Group.

Beyoncé is up for four Image Awards: Outstanding Female Artist, Outstanding New Artist and Outstanding Song and Outstanding Video for "Crazy in Love."

Soul icon Luther Vandross also nabbed four noms: Best Male Artist, Outstanding Album for Dance With My Father and Outstanding Song and Outstanding Video for the album's title track. Vandross is currently recovering from a stroke he suffered last year (see [article id="1479693"]"Luther Vandross Showing Steady Signs Of Recovery, Begins Singing Again"[/article]).

Other artists up for awards include Ruben Studdard and Anthony Hamilton (Outstanding New Artist), Musiq and Mos Def (Outstanding Male), Alicia Keys and Mary J. Blige (Outstanding Female, Outstanding Album), and Black Eyed Peas, the Roots and the Neptunes (Outstanding Duo or Group). R. Kelly received one nomination: Outstanding Album for Chocolate Factory.

In the film category, "Bad Boys II," ([article id="1473783"]Click for photos from "Bad Boys II"[/article]) "Bend It Like Beckham," "Deliver Us From Eva," "The Fighting Temptations" ([article id="1477921"]Click for photos from "The Fighting Temptations"[/article]) and "Whale Rider" were all nominated for Outstanding Motion Picture.

The Image Awards, now in their 35th year, were founded to honor projects and individuals of all races who have helped promote people of color in the media. Nominees in the categories of music, movies, television and literature are chosen by entertainment-industry professionals and NAACP officials nationwide. This year's awards show will take place March 6 and will be televised March 11.

Last year's big winners were Kirk Franklin and India.Arie, who each took home three awards. Others winners included LL Cool J, Ashanti and Natalie Cole.

Latest News