All Star UNKLE Project Features Shadow, Yorke, Ashcroft, More

An album that's been in the works for the past three years will be making a timely debut propelled by the recent successes of guests like Radiohead's Thom Yorke and The Verve's Richard Ashcroft.

Psyence Fiction" by UNKLE will be out in the U.K. August 24 according to England's "New Musical Express." Both Yorke and Ashcroft did their parts prior to the mass success of their own latest albums. Other guests include Metallica's Jason Newsted, the Beastie Boys' Mike D., Talk Talk's Mark Hollis, Badly Drawn Boy Alice Temple and Kool G Rap.

NME" reports that the Richard Ashcroft song is called "Lonely Soul"; Thom Yorke and DJ Shadow contribute a song they recorded in San Francisco called "Rabbit In Your Headlights"; and Mike D and Jason Newsted team up for "The Knock (Drums Of Death Pt 2).

The album was put together by Mo' Wax label head James Lavelle and roster star Shadow. The much heralded but seldom heard UNKLE, generally regarded as founding members of

the hip-hop scene, consists of Lavelle, and Major Force's Tim Goldsworthy and producer Kudo, who's also a member of Skylab.

UNKLE is also known for remix projects for artists including the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion and Tortoise.