The Cult Tags Producer For New LP

The recently reformed Cult has tagged studio hotshot Michael Beinhorn to produce its new album, and contrary to published reports, the sessions are not yet underway.

A spokesperson for Beinhorn told MTV News that while it looks as though the two parties have reached an agreement, no start dates have been set for recording. The band currently remains in writing mode, while the producer has some other projects to finish up.

According to a band spokesperson, The Cult has the "skeleton" of a new album in place and will continue to flesh it out until the group is comfortable with the material, likely in a month or so.

Producer Beinhorn is perhaps best known for his work on Soundgarden's "Superunknown," the Red Hot Chili Peppers' "Mother's Milk," Hole's "Celebrity Skin," and Marilyn Manson's "Mechanical Animals.

The upcoming project will be the first new Cult record since the group reformed last year with original members Ian Astbury and Billy Duffy, former drummer

Matt Sorum, and new bassist Martyn LeNoble, formerly of Porno For Pyros. Duffy and Astbury had disbanded the group in 1995 after releasing The Cult's self-titled sixth album.

In the meantime, fans should be pacified with the near future release of a five-CD box set covering the band's previous incarnations from 1984 to 1995. The Beggars Banquet label is preparing to set a release date for the collection, which will feature non-album tracks including b-sides, outtakes, radio sessions, demos, and the entire "Peace" LP, an album recorded and scrapped in 1986.

Also nearing completion is the long-awaited Ian Asbury solo album. According to Astbury's management, the album, titled "Spirit/Light/Speed," is mastered and the artwork is in its final stages. The release date has yet to be set by Beggars Banquet.

Latest News