Tori Amos Covers Eminem, Slayer on Strange Little Girls

In an attempt to examine sexual politics, Amos records 12 songs written by men for LP.

What if the real Slim Shady were actually a woman rapping about murdering her

spouse and getting their toddler's assistance in dumping the body in Lake


Tori Amos will demonstrate that scenario by covering Eminem's horror-core jingle "97'

Bonnie & Clyde" on her sixth album, Strange Little Girls.

In an innovative attempt to examine sexual politics and identity, Amos

recorded 12 songs written by men to show the difference in view when they're

performed by a woman. The album, due September 18, features her takes on

songs by the Velvet Underground, the Beatles, Neil Young, Slayer, Depeche

Mode and the Boomtown Rats.

Amos, who recorded the disc in Cornwall, England, wanted the album to

address violence and identity in terms of how men see women and themselves (see [article id="1444484"]"Tori Amos To Explore Sexual Politics On Strange Little Girls"[/article]).

"I've always found it fascinating how men say things and how women hear

them," she said in a press release from Atlantic Records. "Words can wound and

words can heal, and both are included on the album."

When she first heard "97' Bonnie & Clyde," "the scariest

thing was ... the realization that people are getting into the music and

grooving along to a song about a man who is butchering his wife," Amos said.

"So half the world is dancing to this, oblivious, with blood on their

sneakers. But when you talk about killing your wife, you don't get to

control whom she becomes friends with after she's dead. She had to have a


The singer/songwriter adopted a character for every song, and she's

photographed in each persona for the album jacket. The LP's first single,

"Strange Little Girl" — written by the Stranglers and originally released in

1982 — will arrive at radio in mid-August.

Amos has lined up a tour to kick off in Miami on September 28 and run

through November 21 in San Francisco. She will perform alone at her

keyboards during the outing, marking the first time she's toured without

backing musicians since 1994.

Strange Little Girls will include the following tracks, according to Amos' Atlantic


  • "New Age" (The Velvet Underground)
  • "97' Bonnie & Clyde" (Eminem)
  • "Strange Little Girl" (The Stranglers)
  • "Enjoy the Silence" (Depeche Mode)
  • "Rattlesnakes" (Lloyd Cole & the Commotions)
  • "I'm Not in Love" (10cc)
  • "Time" (Tom Waits)
  • "Heart of Gold" (Neil Young)
  • "I Don't Like Mondays" (The Boomtown Rats)
  • "Raining Blood" (Slayer)
  • "Real Men" (Joe Jackson)
  • "Happiness Is a Warm Gun" (The Beatles)