R. Kelly's Secret Weapon Set To Debut

R. Kelly will be entering the boy-band arena with a new project dubbed Secret Weapon, a group which will be making its debut with a single in May followed by an as-yet-untitled CD in June.

Secret Weapon is a four-piece, New Jersey-based boy band that offers up hook-laden, pop-flavored R&B. The group was discovered by Kelly on the basketball court almost three years ago, singing the National Anthem at a game in Atlantic City. At the time, Kelly was nurturing a parallel career as a player for the semi-pro Atlantic City Seagulls (see [article id="1430780"]"R. Kelly Signs Pro Basketball Deal"[/article]).

R. Kelly himself has penned Secret Weapon's songs and produced the album, which will be released by the artist's own Rockland imprint through Interscope Records. The project was mixed by Tony Maserati, who recently mixed Eve's "Ruff Riders' First Lady," Puff Daddy's "Forever," and Marc Anthony's "I Need To Know.

The single isn't set yet, though

some of the group's song titles include "Didn't Have To Lie," "Gotta Represent," "Eight Sharp," "I Can't Close My Eyes," "Everytime I Hear A Song Like This," and "Daydreamin'".

Meanwhile, Kelly himself is currently in a Philadelphia studio mixing his own album, tentatively titled "," a spokesperson for Rockland has confirmed. The record should be released in the early summer and followed by a tour.