Killers, Tool, Beastie Boys To Headline Lollapalooza 2009

Festival will also include performances by Kings of Leon, Jane's Addiction and Depeche Mode, among others.

Well, now we know all six. Last month, after four of this year's Lollapalooza headliners were revealed, event founder Perry Farrell told MTV News that he wasn't stressed by the premature leakage ... after all, he still had a pair of big-name bill-toppers to announce, and late Monday he did just that — and then some.

Farrell unveiled the full Lollapalooza 2009 lineup — a list of more than 100 acts — including his two top-secret headliners: Tool and the Killers, who will join previously reported headliners the Kings of Leon, the reunited Jane's Addiction, the Beastie Boys and Depeche Mode (as in previous years — 2008's closing-night duel between Kanye West and Nine Inch Nails, for example — each night at Lolla 2009 will have two headliners).

Artists on the undercard include Snoop Dogg, Lou Reed, Rise Against, TV on the Radio, Vampire Weekend, the Decemberists and Ben Harper and Relentless 7. In keeping with previous years' Lolla lineups, there's also a strong undercurrent of electronic music (Thievery Corporation, MSTRKRFT, Crystal Castles and Simian Mobile Disco), hip-hop (Asher Roth, Kid Cudi, Rye Rye) and hotly tipped indie acts (Animal Collective, Band of Horses, Of Montreal, Deerhunter and Ida Maria).

Lollapalooza 2009 will take place August 7-9 in Chicago's Grant Park. A limited number of advance-price three-day passes are now available through for $190. When those are gone, regular three-day passes will go on sale for $205. There are also VIP packages and private luxury cabanas available for the well-heeled members of the alternative nation.

The full lineup for Lollapalooza 2009:

Depeche Mode


The Killers

Jane's Addiction

Beastie Boys

Kings of Leon

Lou Reed

Ben Harper and Relentless 7

Thievery Corporation

Snoop Dogg

Rise Against

Andrew Bird

TV on the Radio

Vampire Weekend

The Decemberists

Neko Case

Sound Tribe Sector 9

Animal Collective

Band of Horses

Of Montreal

Arctic Monkeys

Coheed and Cambria

Ben Folds

Fleet Foxes

Silversun Pickups

Kaiser Chiefs

Crystal Castles

Bon Iver



Dan Auberbach

Cold War Kids


Lykke Li

Robert Earl Keen

Peter Bjorn and John

Heartless Bastards



Federico Aubele

Dan Deacon

Passion Pit

The Raveonettes

The Gaslight Anthem

The Airborne Toxic Event

White Lies

Ra Ra Riot

No Age

Asher Roth

Los Campesinos!

Bat for Lashes


Gang Gang Dance

The Virgins

Amazing Baby

Portugal. The Man

The Knux

Ida Maria

Delta Spirit

Friendly Fires

Manchester Orchestra


Ezra Furman & the Harpoons


Miike Snow

Alberta Cross

Hey Champ

Sam Roberts Band

The Henry Clay People

Davy Knowles and Back Door Slam

Cage the Elephant

Living Things

The Low Anthem

Blind Pilot

Langhorne Slim

Other Lives

The Builders and The Butchers

Eric Church

Joe Pug

Kevin Devine

The Green Cards



Featured electronic performers in Perry Farrell's electronica tent:



Simian Mobile Disco


Boys Noise

KiD CuDi



Hercules and Love Affair (DJ Set)

The Bloody Beetroots (DJ Set)

LA Riots


The Glitch Mob

Hollywood Holt

Rye Rye

He Say, She Say

Car Stereo (Wars)

Dark Wave Disco


Yello Fever

Animal Collective (DJ Set)