Chuck D, Alanis Morissette, Peter Gabriel To Be Honored By Rock The Vote

Morissette and Gabriel to receive the Patrick Lippert Award, Chuck D to receive the Rock the Vote Founders' Award.

Alanis Morissette, Peter Gabriel and Public Enemy's Chuck D are set to be honored at the 10th annual Rock the Vote Awards party which is being held at New York's Roseland Ballroom on February 22, the night before the Grammy Awards.

Morissette and Gabriel will both be bestowed with the Patrick Lippert Award, named for the Rock the Vote president who spearheaded the young-voter drive in 1992, while Chuck D will receive the Rock the Vote Founders' Award, according to the organization. Lippert died of AIDS-related pneumonia in 1993.

Morissette garnered recognition for efforts that include participation in the benefit concert Groundwork, which raised money for the United Nations' Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO), as well as various fundraisers for gun control and September 11th relief. Meanwhile Gabriel is active in the Witness project, which arms activists with video cameras to prevent human-rights violations. He was also among the organizers for the Human Rights Now! Tour with Amnesty International, and participated in the various benefits and events organized by Nelson Mandela and Greenpeace.

A longtime supporter of community service organizations, Chuck D is being honored for his Rock the Vote efforts, in addition to his work with the National Urban League and National Alliance of African American Athletes.

Dave Matthews and Destiny's Child were last year's recipients of Patrick Lippert Awards (see "Destiny's Child, Dave Matthews Feted At Lippert Awards").