Dickey Betts To Release First Post-Allmans Album

Let's Get Together, due July 31, fifth solo release by fired guitarist.

Founding Allman Brothers Band guitarist Dickey Betts is set to release Let's Get Together, his first solo album since being handed his walking papers by the Southern-rock stalwarts, on July 31, according to a spokesperson for his label, FreeFalls Entertainment.

The 11-track Let's Get Together, which follows 1988's Pattern Disruptive, is the guitarist's fifth album without the Allmans and second with the Dickey Betts Band, whose new lineup consists of guitarist Mark May, bassist David Stoltz, saxophonist Kris Jensen, drummer Mark Greenberg, keyboardist Matt Zeiner and percussionist Frankie Lombardi.

Betts' 1974 solo debut, Highway Call, credited to Richard Betts, was reissued in May by Universal Music Enterprises.

Betts was relieved of his duties in the Allman Brothers Band last year, on the eve of the band's summer tour, when a temporary layoff turned permanent. The group cited "creative differences" as the reason for the breakup in a statement, though singer-keyboardist Gregg Allman said in interviews that Betts' drug and alcohol abuse interfering with his band performance caused the dismissal.

Betts sang and penned the group's biggest hit, "Ramblin' Man" (1973), as well as other Allmans favorites such as "In Memory of Elizabeth Reed" and "Blue Sky."

The Dickey Betts Band is on the road with confirmed dates through July 14, according to the group's publicist.

The track list for Let's Get Together:

  • "Rave On"

  • "Let's All Get Together"

  • "Immortal"

  • "Tombstone Eyes"

  • "Here Come the Blues Again"

  • "One Stop Be-Bop"

  • "I Gotta Know"

  • "Call Me Anytime"

  • "Dona Maria"

  • "All For You"

  • "Sing While I'm Walkin'"