Modest Mouse Rarities Surfacing

Compilation includes 21 tracks recorded between 1994 and '95.

Flipping the script on the title of last year's compilation Building Nothing Out of Something, Modest Mouse are building something out of nothing their fans have heard on CD before.

Twenty-one previously unreleased tracks by the Northwestern trio will surface on Sad Sappy Sucker, a compilation of songs recorded between 1994 and 1995, according to a spokesperson from K Records, which will release the album on April 30.

Most songs were recorded by K Records founder Calvin Johnson in his Dub Narcotic Studio, while nine others were laid down DIY-style on vocalist/guitarist Isaac Brock's four-track. Sad Sappy Sucker will also include three songs from Modest Mouse's 1994 debut single: "Dukes Up," "Blue Cadet-3, Do You Connect?" and "Woodgrain."

Modest Mouse shattered the confines of indie obscurity with their 1998 breakthrough album, The Lonesome Crowded West, subsequently launching a bidding ar that ended in the band signing with Epic. The group's major-label debut, The Moon & Antarctica, was released last year and has sold nearly 74,000 copies to date, according to SoundScan.

The track listing for Sad Sappy Sucker is as follows:

  • "Birds Vs. Worms"

  • "Four Fingered Fishermen"

  • "Wagon Ride Return"

  • "Classy Plastic Lumber"

  • "From Point A to Point B (Infinity)"

  • "Path of Least Resistance"

  • "It Always Rains on a Picnic"

  • "Dukes Up"

  • "Thinklong"

  • "Every Penny Fed Car"

  • "Mice Eat Cheese"

  • "Racecar Grin You Ain't No Landmark"

  • "Red Hands Case"

  • "Secret Agent X-9"

  • "Blue Cadet-3, Do You Connect?"

  • "Missoula City Devil"

  • "5-4-3-2-1 Lisp-Off"

  • "Woodgrain"

  • "BMX Crash"

  • "Sucker Bet"

  • "Black Blood and Old New Agers"

  • "Swy"

  • "Australopithecus"

  • "Sin Gun Chaser"