Mogwai Finish Third Album

Post-rock band's upcoming CD, due April 4, features horn and string sections, guest spots.

Scottish post-rock quintet Mogwai have completed their third album, tentatively titled Nevermind That Sh--, Here Comes Mogwai!, according to a spokesperson for their U.S. label, Matador Records.

Due April 10, the album features Super Furry Animals singer Gruff Rhys on one track and Chavez guitarist Matt Sweeney on another. The band also brought in horn and string sections for the first time on the new LP, which a spokesperson said the group jokingly referred to as "the most expensive post-rock album ever made."

The album was recorded at Tarbox Road Studios in Cassadaga, New York, with Dave Fridmann, a member of Mercury Rev who has lent his lush, orchestral production style to the Flaming Lips' The Soft Bulletin, Elf Power's A Dream in Sound and the Rev's epic 1998 LP, Deserter's Songs, among dozens of others. Fridmann also co-produced and engineered Mogwai's previous album, 1999's Come On Die Young.

The most recent release by the band, which is led by guitarist/vocalist Stuart Braithwaite and bassist/guitarist Dominic Atchison, was the Mogwai EP + 2 EP in October 1999. Adding the two tracks from their "No Education = No Future: F--- the Curfew" government-protest single to four new tracks, the EP signaled a more refined direction for Mogwai that is continued on their upcoming album, according to their spokesperson.

Mogwai's 1997 debut, Young Team, balanced somber, sensitive pop and explosive guitar-crunch assaults, establishing the Glasgow band as the leaders of a burgeoning Scottish rock underground that also included Arab Strap, Belle & Sebastian and the Delgados. It was quickly followed by Ten Rapid, a singles compilation, as well as the remix collection Mogwai Fear Satan: Kicking a Dead Pig, which featured versions of their tracks by [u]-ziq, Kid Loco and My Bloody Valentine's Kevin Shields.